When deleting a folder, the message asks if I want the folder to be permanently deleted but on my recycle bin settings I have unchecked the box saying to permanently delete folders. If the Recycle bin settings are correct; why is this happening? I'm using an HP laptop, Pavilion g series with Windows 7.
Are you using SHIFT+delete?
Thank you for your response.
I tried what you suggested but it didn't work! Any more suggestions?
On the Recycle Bin properties do you have "Display delete confirmation dialog" checked or unchecked?
Are you running some third party recycle bin protection program?
As Joe asked if using 'Shift+Delete' then file will be permanently deleted should use only 'delete' to put it into bin.
Also if recycle bin is nearly full or full it often will ask if you want to permanently delete to save deleting any files still in bin.
Try emptying bin and checking recycle bin size to see if there is enough storage allowed.
In answer to everyone's questions/comments:
1. The "display delete confirmation dialog" box is unchecked.
2. I do not have a 3rd party recycle bin protection program
3. I am not doing a "shift delete"; only "delete" when deleting a folder
4. I emptied all but 3 files in the recycle bin; there is plenty of storage room -- no change
I have tried everything suggested; but nothing works!
My husband is not having this problem on his PC; it's only occurring on my laptop -- HP Pavilion g series. BTW this problem just started a few weeks ago.
Thanks to everyone who has made suggestions/comments. :-)
Do your restore points go back far enough to before this started happening ?