Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: animate

  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    57
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    animate

    I will occasionally come across a web site that I can access in IE but not in netscape. I always get an error that the site is not available. The address always has ".animate" in it. Is there some setting in netscape I need to turn on to get these pages to display?

  2. #2
    ileacy
    Guest

    Re: animate

    Can you give a specific site to test?

  3. #3
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    57
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: animate

    In Netscape 4.6 [which is what I have] try going to this site to see what I mean.

    http://www.thewashingtonians.org/animate.js

    No problem in getting in with IE.

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Tallahassee, Florida, USA
    Posts
    901
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: animate

    [img]/w3timages/icons/thinks.gif[/img]Intriguing. However, the URL as listed won't open in my IE 5.0 However, the root (http://www.thewashingtonians.org) does(which it won't in NS). In IE's status bar a javascript is running.

    For whatever reason, our old NS builds just aren't reading the java and from what I've read I don't think I want to play around with NS6. [img]/w3timages/icons/tonguea.gif[/img] I did check Netscape's plug-ins site and didn't see anything promissing. [img]/w3timages/icons/sad.gif[/img] (For others reading who may not know, in NS you click on Help / About Plug-Ins to find out what plug-ins you have installed -- it also has a link to NS's plug-in page).

    All in all, not very helpful. Sorry.[img]/w3timages/icons/sad.gif[/img]
    Karen

  5. #5
    ileacy
    Guest

    Re: animate

    Problem confirmed using http://www.thewashingtonians.org, NS4.76, and IE5.5.

    I will not be testing using NS666.

    Could not find any settings to fix problem. Sorry.[img]/w3timages/icons/sad.gif[/img]

  6. #6
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: animate

    I get the same result, Karen. Using NS 4.75 & IE 5.5.

  7. #7
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    45
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: animate

    It's looking for the animate.js file - NS4.7 reports cannot find, whereas IE5.5 has no trouble. The problem is caused by the dynamic animation created within FrontPage 4.0 (the animation is in the nav bars at the top of the screen and is essentially a mouseover).

    It's conceivable that IE will open the dynamic animation without animate.js being present, whereas NS requires the file. I use the same feature on www.searoom.com but I do have the animate.js file on the server and thus both IE and NS will load the page

  8. #8
    ileacy
    Guest

    Re: animate

    Tx for the info Tony.
    Is there a way to configure NS locally so that the symptom can be avoided?

  9. #9
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    45
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: animate

    No, Ian. It is not local to the browser but to the site. They are missing the animate.js file. It is a real pity, but so many web "designers" do not check the performance of their sites in anything beyond the preview view in the wysiwyg editor of choice. Most of these previews fail to show real life results. Sites must be tested on line when problems such as this will show up and can be corrected.

  10. #10
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Tallahassee, Florida, USA
    Posts
    901
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: animate

    Rick -- if Washingtonians is something you really wish to see, and don't want to have to open IE to view, you may want to copy the link of this thread (from the forum page, right click and select Copy Link Location)... paste it into an e-mail and drop them a line. The Webmaster may not even be aware there's a problem, or a file that needs to be added to the server.

    Just a thought...[img]/w3timages/icons/thinks.gif[/img]
    Karen

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •