Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Pagefile.sys (XP-SP2)

    Hi everyone. We have a fairly old (about 5 years) PC running WIN XP Pro SP2, (sorry, I don't have system details to hand), and Office 03. The HDD is on its way out, and we recently purchased a 1TB external HDD. I am trying to do a straight copy from c: on the sick PC onto the external HDD, but it won't let me as pagefile.sys is in use.

    I have a general understanding what pagefile.sys is for, and am wondering if it is safe to rename it (or any other suggestions) for the duration of the copy?

    Would it be better to either do a diskcopy c: to f: - or alternatively just do a backup of data?

    Grateful for any advice.

  2. #2
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    A Magic Forest in Deepest, Darkest Kent
    Posts
    5,681
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Pagefile.sys (XP-SP2)

    Hi Lynn

    Here is another way of looking at it:

    If you have plenty of RAM in the PC and because pagefile.sys in use by the virtual memory you can turn it off negating the need to copy it: <img src=/S/sneaky.gif border=0 alt=sneaky width=15 height=15>

    1) Right click My computer
    2) Click Properties
    3) Click the Advanced tab
    4) Under Performance click Settings
    5) Click the Advanced tab under virtual Memory click Change

    In this section you are able to change the space available for your drive or No paging file and click Set

    This can at least get you to copy the files across without worrying about the in use message.

    HTH
    Jerry

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Pagefile.sys (XP-SP2)

    Many thanks, Jerry. I'll try this tonight and see how it goes.

    I should also mention that I now realise using diskcopy ain't a good idea.

    Cheers

  4. #4
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    A Magic Forest in Deepest, Darkest Kent
    Posts
    5,681
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Pagefile.sys (XP-SP2)

    Thanks Gillly

    If you get the opportunity can you reply to this thread as I will be interested to know if the work around, erm, worked. <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>

    The copy option, as you have found, will cause problems due to the locking.

    Let's wait but I am sure a few more ideas will come through.
    Jerry

  5. #5
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Pagefile.sys (XP-SP2)

    Have you considered imaging software ??? Many here in the Lounge rely on True Image. There is a <img src=/S/free.gif border=0 alt=free width=30 height=15> trial offered for download, but I don't know if it is fully functional (you might not be able to restore your image unless you buy the software & register it).
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  6. #6
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Pagefile.sys (XP-SP2)

    I forgot that there is a disk clone function (I don't use it) that might give you the ability to clone your existing image to the external drive and then check to see if you can boot to that image before you remove the existing HD.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Pagefile.sys (XP-SP2)

    Thanks Doc for both of these - I'll have a good look tonight when I get home!

  8. #8
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,571
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,056 Times in 925 Posts

    Re: Pagefile.sys (XP-SP2)

    Cloning will not work. You still need the original HD to boot. The OP needs to image the old disk and restore the image to the new disk.

    Joe
    Joe

  9. #9
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Pagefile.sys (XP-SP2)

    So she has to create an image on the external drive, make a Rescue Boot Disk for True Image, purchase a new HD & install it in place of the old internal drive and then boot o the Rescue Disk and restore the image to the new internal drive ?? Or Purchase a new HD, install it as a slave, clone the old HD to the new and then swap the new HD for the old ?? Or either of these options ??
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  10. #10
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,571
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,056 Times in 925 Posts

    Re: Pagefile.sys (XP-SP2)

    I'd do the first part. Create an image on another drive (either internal or external). Create the rescue boot disk for TI. Install the new internal HD and restore the image to the new internal HD. In my experience cloning still requires the old drive to be present even after the cloning operation.

    Joe
    Joe

  11. #11
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Pagefile.sys (XP-SP2)

    Hi everyone.

    I did as was earlier suggested and was able to copy the disk. So everything has been saved to an external disk, and now we will re-image the box. Thanks so much for all your suggestions!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •