Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    298
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    ASP On Windows 2003?

    Hi,

    Anyone know anything about ASP serving?

    I am trying to install an ASP web site on Windows 2003 web server.

    So far I have:

    1. Installed ASP.NET
    2. Assigned a new IP address.
    3. Created a target folder (ycoweb)
    4. Created a new website (OCO Web) and assigned it to the above address.
    5. Changed the document order so that "default.asp" is the primary document
    6. Extracted the required data files to the target folder (verified that "default.asp" exists).

    Note the web server definitely work because I have 2 other ordinary websites running on it off different IP and the site in question works as a normal website (tested by putting an index.htm page in it and temporarily renaming default.asp).

    But as an ASP server it doesn't work and, given that I'm not exactly Windows 2003 IIS/ASP trained or experienced I'm now asking questions [img]/forums/images/smilies/smile.gif[/img]

    Any ideas?

    James

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,573
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: ASP On Windows 2003?

    What does not work mean? Are you getting an error in the browser? Have you checked the application & system logs on the server?

    Joe
    Joe

  3. #3
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    A Magic Forest in Deepest, Darkest Kent
    Posts
    5,681
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: ASP On Windows 2003?

    James

    1) Is this folder inside your Default Website folder
    2) Type inetmgr into Start | Run and click on the Default Website node
    a) Click properties
    [img]/forums/images/smilies/cool.gif[/img] Ensure the Aloow Anonymous access is ticked
    3) Try putting the folder into c:inetpubwwwroot
    4) As mentioned by Joe...what is the error message you are getting in the browser?
    Jerry

  4. #4
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    298
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Page Not Found

    Hi guys,

    The error I am getting is "The page cannot be found".

    Why would I want to move the information to the C: drive (c:intetpubwwwroot)? None of the other websites are there .. they are all already (in separate folders, each associated with a website and IP) on my Y:drive and work fine plus, if I change the default document from default.asp to index.htm (or remove default.asp) it displays that page fine. This HAS to be something other than where it physically is on the system ... I'm assuming I have configured the site or service wrong.

    James

  5. #5
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    A Magic Forest in Deepest, Darkest Kent
    Posts
    5,681
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Page Not Found

    Ok, get you <img src=/S/thumbup.gif border=0 alt=thumbup width=15 height=15>...give me a bit and I will have a look at my settings and see if I can direct you...I have a feeling it is your virtual directory settings.
    Jerry

  6. #6
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    A Magic Forest in Deepest, Darkest Kent
    Posts
    5,681
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Page Not Found

    James

    Try this

    1) Open up the Internet Information Services Manager (Start | Run | inetmgr)
    2) Expand your server node
    3) Select Web Service Extensions
    4) In the right hand pane, click ASP.NET v2.0.50727 (or a later version number) and then click the Allow button.


    That should do the trick
    Jerry

  7. #7
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    298
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    ASP.NET v1.1.4322

    Hi Jerry,

    It is already allowed but it isn't the version you mention, it's ASP.NET v1.1.4322 ... is that a problem?

    James

  8. #8
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    A Magic Forest in Deepest, Darkest Kent
    Posts
    5,681
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: ASP.NET v1.1.4322

    Which version of ASP.NET are you using 1 or 2 and which version of IIS are you using 5 or 6?
    Jerry

  9. #9
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    A Magic Forest in Deepest, Darkest Kent
    Posts
    5,681
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: ASP.NET v1.1.4322

    I have just thought, if is asp.net have you tried the file extension default.aspx

    It is worth a try as asp.net is not classic asp.
    Jerry

  10. #10
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    298
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: ASP.NET v1.1.4322

    Hi Jerry,

    From the look of it v1.1.4322 of ASP.NET and based IIS Manager v6.0 of IIS.

    James

  11. #11
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
    Posts
    1,862
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: ASP.NET v1.1.4322

    It sounds like IIS isn't aware of the .NET framework. This can sometimes happen depending on the order of installation of IIS and the .NET framework.

    You can try making IIS aware of this by running the following command:

    C:WindowsMicrosoft.NETFrameworkv1.1.4322aspnet_reg iis.exe -i

  12. #12
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    298
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: ASP.NET v1.1.4322

    Hi Mark,

    Thanks for that but it didn't seem to work.

    I'm wondering if I should be upgrading IIS and ASP.NET to later versions?

    James

  13. #13
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
    Posts
    1,862
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: ASP.NET v1.1.4322

    Generally speaking, you can't usually upgrade IIS on Windows 2003. It's always going to be IIS6 (for now, anyway). There's no harm in upgrading .NET framework, but it shouldn't be necessary for what you've described. Any version of .NET (1.x or 2.0) should work.

    After running the ASP.NET reg iis command that I suggested before, you may also want to check the extensions to insure that the .NET extensions are enabled. I don't have a 2003 box available to me at the moment, but you'll want to look around for the extensions property page and verify that ASP.NET is enabled. You should be able to find the how-to in either help files or by a quick google.

  14. #14
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    298
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    JUst To Let You Guys Know ...

    ... it's all working OK now.

    Some websites said that reinstalling IIS would solve the issue but when I put on the latest patches (including SP2, something not normally done on a server until a given patch gets approved internally) the site started working ... my assumption is that SPO2 effectively reinstalled IIS.

    Many thanks for all your help [img]/forums/images/smilies/smile.gif[/img]

    Kyu

  15. #15
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,573
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: JUst To Let You Guys Know ...

    Thanks for posting back. Service packs sometimes do wonders.

    Glad it is working now. <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>

    Joe
    Joe

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •