Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    St. Augustine, Florida, USA
    Posts
    28
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Security (2002/2003)

    1) Is there a way to print out security settings for all opjects in the database (i.e. group and access level for each object)?
    2) If I add a new database to an existing workgroup is there any impact to the database already secured in that workgroup?

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Security (2002/2003)

    1) Access Security FAQ contains a lot of examples of how to read (and manipu;ate) security settings using VBA code; hopefully you can use this as starting point.

    2) No - databases do not belong to a workgroup. You can open the same database with both a secured workgroup and with an unsecured workgroup (but if security is tight, you won't be able to do much if you open it with an unsecured workgroup).

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Vancouver, Br. Columbia, Canada
    Posts
    632
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Security (2002/2003)

    I've used P-track http://www.mile50.com/access/ptrack/index.htm for that purpose. The link is for Access 97, but you could upgrade to a later version.
    --------------------------------------------------
    Jack MacDonald
    Vancouver, Canada

  4. #4
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    St. Augustine, Florida, USA
    Posts
    28
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Security (2002/2003)

    Downloaded P-track and it works great! Everyone should have this. Thanks!

  5. #5
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    St. Augustine, Florida, USA
    Posts
    28
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Security (2002/2003)

    <P ID="edit" class=small>(Edited by Madeline on 18-Jul-07 16:46. Added new info.)</P>As I mentioned, this tool works great but I have run into one little snag. I'm getting an error message "User-defined type not defined" on just on of the databases that uses this tool. I have a couple of others that work fine. I'm really new at VB and continue to dig for a solution but if you have any tips they would be most appreciated. Let me know if you need more info to help sort this out. Thanks so much!

    Here's where things seem to fall apart:

    Private Function PT1RefreshAccountList(ThisAccountType As Integer)

    On Error GoTo ERRREFRESHACCOUNTLIST

    Dim TheRowSource As String
    Dim wks As DAO.Workspace
    Dim usr As DAO.User
    Dim grp As DAO.Group
    Dim J As Integer

    DoCmd.Hourglass True

    Set wks = DBEngine.Workspaces(0)

    For J = 0 To 2

    TheRowSource = ""

    Select Case J
    Case 1, 2 'User and User+ Accounts
    For Each usr In wks.Users
    Select Case usr.Name
    Case "Creator", "Engine"
    Case Else
    TheRowSource = TheRowSource & usr.Name & ";"
    End Select

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Security (2002/2003)

    In the database where the problem occurs:
    - Press Alt+F11 to open the Visual Basic Editor.
    - Select Tools | References...
    - Scroll down the list until you see Microsoft DAO 3.6 Object Library.
    - Tick the corresponding check box.
    - Click OK.
    That will hopefully take care of the problem.

  7. #7
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    St. Augustine, Florida, USA
    Posts
    28
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Security (2002/2003)

    I tried to do that before my last post but was doing in in the debug environment and couldn't get the References selected because it was greyed out. Just tried your suggestion and it helped. Thank you, Hans! You've been a great help!

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Security (2002/2003)

    Good! As you have found out, you cannot set or clear references while you are in debug mode. You must end code execution before you can do that.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •