New Lounger
    Thanks

Approval Process (Office2003)

Hi,

Although a programmer by trade I don't have any experience with VBA.
    What I want to do is have a form that a user can fill info out and then route this to another person for approval and editing. I would also like to keep track of the status of this 'record'.

So some questions....
    1) What is a good web resource to start looking at? What about a published book?
    2) Should this be an MSAccess VBA program that sends notifications via outlook? Or should it be an Outlook VBA program that updates Access? Or some mix?

Thanks,
    Scott

Plutonium Lounger
    Thanks

Re: Approval Process (Office2003)

You may not need to code anything. Microsoft Word (version 2003 and before) has a Routing Slip feature (File | Send To | Routing Recipient) that lets you send a document (which can contain a form) to a reviewer or reviewers, with an option to keep track of the document.

Warning: this feature is not available any more in Word 2007.

New Lounger
    Thanks

Yeah, thats pretty simple. I need a bit more control. Like...
    1) According to info entered in form send to appropriate person
    2) Reviewers should be identified by function rather than specific person, so that when people leave or get promoted just a few changes need to be made.
    3) Tracking. Need to track the info in the form. Info needs to go into a database eventualy and need to be able to query where the item is in the process.

This will be a stop-gap procurement system. Eventually we would move to something more full featured. But for now I need to learn how to do the above and to implement it.

Thanks,
    Scott

Plutonium Lounger
    Thanks

Could you provide more details of what you want to accomplish? What should be sent out - just an e-mail, or a file, or ...?

New Lounger
    Thanks

I think we are flexible at this point.
    I need to route info from one user to another