5 Star Lounger
    Thanks

No Permission in My Files (Home Premium)

I have a new PC that is running Windows Vista and I'm encountering some of Vista's restrictions. I am an Access database developer so I have a lot of Access files and some other file categories so I added a "Data" folder under my name in the C:Users path and added a number of folders, including my Access folder, under the Data folder. When I try to open a split database Vista has a problem with the links from the routines in the front-end file to the tables in the back-end file and I get the message that I don't have the needed permissions to gain access to the back-end file. The front-end and back-end files are in the same folder! If I open a 1-file database where the routines and the tables are in the same file, I don't have any problem.

Any ideas why this is happening and how to fix it?

Thanks,
    Bill

3 Star Lounger
    Sydney, Australia, New South Wales, Australia
    Thanks

Re: No Permission in My Files (Home Premium)

Not sure of the problem, but some things to consider or try:
    1. Note that the fact that the front end and back end are in the same directory is not relevant.
    2. You don't say whether you used Vista Access to split the files, or whether they were already split. If they were split previously, the owner of the back end could be a different user (note that even if the user 'name' is the same, it could / would be a different user from a different version of Windows, or a different machine).
    - 2.1 If this is the case, just copy the backend under the current user, rename the old back end to some other name, then rename the copy to the real name)
    3. Also check the permissions under the properties of the file.
    Peter

Super Moderator
    Thanks

Have you used the Linked Table Manager to relink the tables? Otherwise the front end will still be trying to access the data files on your old computer.