Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Durango, Colorado
    Posts
    80
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Script error (I.E. 7.0.5730.11)

    A few days ago I started getting this script error message. I have attached a screen shot of the message, but it basically says:

    "Stop running this script?

    A script on this page is causing Internet Explorer to run slowly. If it continues to run, your computer may become unresponsive.

    Yes No"

    If I click "yes", then the window goes away. And in anywhere from fifteen minutes to a few hours it pops up again. It seems to happen when I have Outlook 2003 up and nothing else. Doesn't happen if I have my browser is up and nothing else.

    On another webpage, a fellow suggested emptying all the temp Internet files, which I have done. I've also run TuneUp 2007 today and I hoped it would fix this. Haven't run IE repair yet.

    Any ideas anyone?

    Thanks,

    Marilyn

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Script error (I.E. 7.0.5730.11)

    Do you experience any delays in Outlook 2003, especially when opening or composing an e-mail in HTML format?

  3. #3
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Durango, Colorado
    Posts
    80
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Script error (I.E. 7.0.5730.11)

    Hello Hans,

    I do think that was happening awhile back and might have occurred at the same time this message started appearing. I have recently gone from dial up to DSL and Qwest did install some software of their own. I also did an upgrade on Webroot's Spy Sweeper. Just can't remember in what order.

    Marilyn

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Script error (I.E. 7.0.5730.11)

    Do you still have the delays when typing in an HTML format message in Outlook?

    BTW, recent versions of SpySweeper reportedly slow down many users' PCs.

  5. #5
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Durango, Colorado
    Posts
    80
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Script error (I.E. 7.0.5730.11)

    Thank you Hans,

    Do you have any suggestions for using another spy sweep program. I have been suspicious about Spy Sweeper for some time now. My Norton does the same thing, but not sure it is as efficient as Spy Sweeper. But I am tired of these problems that Spy Sweeper seems to cause.

    Do you think this "script" window that keeps popping up could be related to Spy Sweeper?

    Thanks,

    Marilyn

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Script error (I.E. 7.0.5730.11)

    The "Stop running this script" message means that executing a scropt timed out. I don't know whether this is caused by SpySweeper, but you could try deactivating SpySweeper to see if the problem goes away.

    Norton is adequate, I think, but you might also use Microsoft's free Windows Defender and/or JavaCool's free SpywareBlaster. The latter doesn't have a real-time protection component, but it prevents thousands of malware sites from installing their rubbish on your PC. Under some circumstances, SpywareBlaster (and Spybot Search & Destroy too) can slow down Outlook, but there is a remedy for that. That's why I asked if you still experienced delays in Outlook.

  7. #7
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Durango, Colorado
    Posts
    80
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Script error (I.E. 7.0.5730.11)

    Hi Hans,

    I did look for a way to disable Spy Sweeper, but could not find a way to do that. Do you know how I can do that?

    Another thought came to mind. I have recently changed from dial up to a DSL line. THough I was told that the DSL line would be up and running all the time, I am constantly getting messages that I am offline and I have to click "connect" to be connected again. Could that be causing this problem? I've been meaning to call Qwest to ask them about this problem.

    Thanks,

    Marilyn

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Script error (I.E. 7.0.5730.11)

    To disable SpySweeper (note: the following is a description I found using Google, I don't have SpySweeper myself):
    <hr>Open it click >Options over to the left then >program options >Uncheck "load at windows startup".
    Over to the left click "shields" and uncheck all there.
    Uncheck "home page shield".
    Uncheck "automatically restore default without notification".<hr>
    With DSL, you should indeed be online 24/24, without having to connect; I'd contact Qwest about this problem.

  9. #9
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Durango, Colorado
    Posts
    80
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Script error (I.E. 7.0.5730.11)

    Hi Hans,

    Well, I did call Qwest and had a gal walk me through resetting all my browser settings. That speeded things up, but I still get the script message.

    What I did next was to right click the Spy Sweeper icon in the task bar and selected "Shut Down". So I'll see how that works. If that doesn't do it, I'll try what you suggested. But I figured that "shut down" meant it stopped all functions until I bring it up again. I'll let you know if that works. If it does, then I am going to remove Spy Sweep.

    Thanks again,
    Marilyn

  10. #10
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Script error (I.E. 7.0.5730.11)

    Marilyn,

    >Do you have any suggestions for using another spy sweep program

    Check out my <post#=660,911>post 660,911</post#> regarding Acronis Privacy Expert.

    An earlier post in that same thread mentions why I got rid of SpySweeper.
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  11. #11
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Durango, Colorado
    Posts
    80
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Script error (I.E. 7.0.5730.11)

    Hi Hans,

    I did go and study all the threads that went with the post you directed me to. Interesting.

    Bottom line is I turned off SpySweeper and now no more script error windows/problems. I also deleted my old dial up accounts from my browser properties-connection window. The dial up function was turned off there, but I think that was what was telling me I was disconnected. Since I removed both of those dial up accounts completely, I am no longer getting any annoying messages.

    I would love to remove SpySweeper from my computer, but a little nervous about that since I have read posts where people removed Spy Sweeper only to have that cause other problems. I will contact WebRoot and ask how to get their nasty little program off my computer without it destroying everything around it.

    One more question. I do have Norton Internet Security which also removes adware, spyware and of course viruses. Should that be enough?

    Thanks,

    Marilyn

  12. #12
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Script error (I.E. 7.0.5730.11)

    Hi Marilyn,
    My name is Bob, BTW. Hans is the intelligent other guy who posted. <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15> <img src=/S/angel.gif border=0 alt=angel width=15 height=21>

    I also mentioned a keyboard problem that I had when I removed SS. They had a workaround to delete SS but I didn't save it since I don't intend to reinstall SS. Webroot should be able to give you the information you need for removal. Keep after them.

    Amongst the most popular <img src=/S/free.gif border=0 alt=free width=30 height=15> programs mentioned in the Lounge are:
    1.AdAware 2007
    2.Spybot S&D
    3.Avast Anti Virus

    There are of course many others, all with their advocates and fans. You could do a search for the threads here in the lounge. There are many.
    I think it's best to have a few of the malwarespyware types available. It seems that one will pick up a problem that another will miss.
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  13. #13
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Script error (I.E. 7.0.5730.11)

    Bob (the other intelligent guy answering your questions <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>) has pointed out some good choices.

    Security products by Symantec/Norton and McAfee are always the subject of heated discussions - many people use them, many others hate them <img src=/S/laugh.gif border=0 alt=laugh width=15 height=15>
    While Norton Internet Security may not be the absolute top, it certainly provides adequate or better protection. I have it on my home PC, and I haven't experienced serious problems with it (older versions slowed down the PC a bit, but the 2007 version is less intrusive).

  14. #14
    Gold Lounger Rebel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,024
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Script error (I.E. 7.0.5730.11)

    Hi Marilyn.

    Like Hans, I also have Norton Internet Security on 3 of my computers. I occasionally do a scan with Spybot Search & Destroy, but I'm finding that even this is unnecessary. The most that Spybot has ever found is a few very low risk tracking cookies. Norton is doing its job.
    John
    A Child's Mind, Once Stretched by Imagination...
    Never Regains Its Original Dimensions

  15. #15
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Durango, Colorado
    Posts
    80
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Script error (I.E. 7.0.5730.11)

    Hi Bob,

    This has been a rough and busy day, so my apologies for calling you Hans.

    I thought the script error window had gone once I shut down Spy Sweeper, but alas it just popped up again. I have written WebRoot people about this and included a screen shot of the script error message.

    Thank you for your info on the other spyware programs. I think if I can ever get Spy Sweeper off my computer, I will rely on Norton to take care of that, at least until I know my computer is working okay again.

    Marilyn

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •