Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    48
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Installing Office 2000 (Office 2000 SR1)

    I have a question regarding installing Office 2000. I have had this problem before. I am getting a new laptop and want to install my Office 2000 Premium version on it. When I have tried this before and it asked for my previous version CD, it never seems to find what it needs on the previous version CD to install. I don't want to have to install all previous Office Suites or an older version of Word etc. Is there a trick to do doing this successfully?

    Marilyn

  2. #2
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    St. George, Maine, USA
    Posts
    158
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Installing Office 2000 (Office 2000 SR1)

    Marilyn,
    Because you have a new laptop, propably with lots of HD space still free try what I have been doing with my Office installs.
    I copied the CD(s) to new folder(s) on the HD with a name equal to that of the Office volume CD. I then run setup from the HD. As your cd-rom drive is now free, the install process should easily pic up the previous office cd.
    Using this process, esp. with Office 2000, any 'install on first use' situations are easily resolved without having to look for that blasted cd.
    With a mere 70G on my latest system, I feel that the space taken by copying the cd's the the HD is well worth it.

    Bob_D

  3. #3
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Installing Office 2000 (Office 2000 SR1)

    I think it needs to be Office 97, also a lot of OEM copies can NOT be upgrade from this way because of the way the OEM's put together the CD.
    All of my upgrades have found the older version on the retail copies that I have used. The the last OEM version I used was Office 95 and it would work for the 97 upgrade.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  4. #4
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    48
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Installing Office 2000 (Office 2000 SR1)

    Hi Dave. I do have the Office 97 business edition CD which is a full version. But it is not installed on the laptop. It seems that at some point when trying to install Office 2000 Premium edition that on my old laptop it asked for the Office 97 CD to confirm that I owned it, but then it could not find what it needed to confirm that. I am supposed to get the new laptop tomorrow, so that will be the first thing I will do. I guess I could install the Office 97 version and then the Office 2000 over it, but that seems so redundant.

    Marilyn

  5. #5
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    48
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Installing Office 2000 (Office 2000 SR1)

    Actually I have the Office 97 CD, and if my memory serves me, shouldn't I be able to insert that CD in the CD-ROM at the appropriate time when it asks for it? But if memory serves me again, it seems that didn't work last time and I ended up just installing the Office 97 Program and then the Office Update over that. Sure seems like a lot of trouble.
    Marilyn

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Installing Office 2000 (Office 2000 SR1)

    This is how it has worked for me "shouldn't I be able to insert that CD in the CD-ROM at the appropriate time when it asks for it".
    <big><font color=red>BUT</font color=red></big>, hold the shift key down after inserting the Office 97 CD so 'Autorun" does not run, after 2000 finds what it needs, replace the 97 with the 2000 CD.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  7. #7
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    48
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Installing Office 2000 (Office 2000 SR1)

    Thanks for the information. I will try that. I thought I did that before, but not sure I held down the shift key when inserting Office 97 CD.

    Thanks again.

    Marilyn

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •