5 Star Lounger
    Thanks

Updating records on a form (A2000)

Hi, I am new to access and have no programming or VB experience, please be gentle with me and do not get to techy, thanks.

I have a customer combo on a form, when I select a record it auto completes 5 text boxes that make up the address etc. (text box 1 = [customer].column(2) and so on for each text box).

What I want to do is if there is a new record I want to be able to go to my customers records make a new record and then update the original form I was working on.

I have managed with some help to get part of the way by adding a notonlist event in the combo box which opens my customers form. Here I can create a new record.

My problem is that when I return to my other form the new record does not appear in the drop down. If I close and then re-open the form it is there.

Can anbody tell me how I can make it that I do not have to close the form and go back to it.

TIA

Steve
    Cheers

Steve

Asking the questions everbody wants the answers too but feels too stupid to ask themselves :-)

Gold Lounger
    Thanks

Re: Updating records on a form (A2000)

You have to requery the combo box, which means it goes out and recreates the dropdown list. It only takes a simple line of code:

Me.yourcontrolnamehere.requery

I think the Access help contains some sample code in the NotInLIst event.
    Mark Liquorman
    See my website for Tips & Downloads and for my Liquorman Utilities.

5 Star Lounger
    Thanks

Thanks Mark

I have just returned to the Uk for 2 weeks leave hence the tawdry response. Sadly I have had to leave my DB behind, before you all cry foul I have left feeding and watering instructions behind.

As I already have a notonlist event in the combo box (to open my Customer form) do I just add this line of code to the end of it, if yes do I use a seperator of any sort.

TIA

Steve
    Cheers

Steve

Asking the questions everbody wants the answers too but feels too stupid to ask themselves :-)