Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    NY, NY, USA
    Posts
    654
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Word 2003 Toolbar with custom Icons export to 2007 (Word 2007)

    I have a lot of favorite icons over much of my menus on word 2003. Can I move them all to one toobar no problem and I already have the macros copied over to word 2007 no problem, but can i somehow copy this one toolbar over with my favorite icons etc to word 2007?
    Thanks
    Jerome

  2. #2
    5 Star Lounger kmurdock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Pacific Grove, California, USA
    Posts
    716
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 34 Times in 28 Posts

    Re: Word 2003 Toolbar with custom Icons export to 2007 (Word 2007)

    Hi Jerome,

    If your toolbar is in a global template, it will appear on Word 2007's Add-Ins tab. The screen shot below is three toolbars in two different templates in my Word 2007 Startup folder. I've found that all my macros tend to work unless they include references to commandbars or paragraph numbering, since those features have changed a lot.

    HTH, Kim <img src=/S/bananas.gif border=0 alt=bananas width=33 height=35>

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    NY, NY, USA
    Posts
    654
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Word 2003 Toolbar with custom Icons export to 2007 (Word 2007)

    Hi Kim
    Thanks
    1. I don't see an addIn tab on the menu bar and
    2. Is there a way of putting all my icons in "some" bar in 2003 on my old computer and then what would be the sequence to get it to have it show in word 2007 on the new computer
    thanks
    Jerome

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger kmurdock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Pacific Grove, California, USA
    Posts
    716
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 34 Times in 28 Posts

    Re: Word 2003 Toolbar with custom Icons export to 2007 (Word 2007)

    Hi Jerome,

    Answer to question 1: You don't have any add-ins yet. <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>

    Before I start to answer #2, I just want to clarify what I'm answering. I assumed that when you referred to your favorite icons, you were referring to the functionality behind the icon and not simply the picture on the button. So if you have any buttons hooked up to a macro, you may have to do a little more, but at least start here.

    To create a new toolbar in Word 2003:
    <UL><LI>Right-click on any toolbar and at the bottom of the context-sensitive menu, click "Customize..."
    <LI>In the Customize dialog, click the Toolbars tab and click "New..." and name your new toolbar.
    <LI>Then ctrl-drag and drop your icons to the new toolbar. This will copy the icon to the new toolbar.
    <LI>When you're done, close the dialog box.[/list]By default, new toolbars are saved in Normal.dot, which is fine. Now we'll create a new template and copy the toolbar into it:
    <UL><LI>Click File>New and create a new template (if you're using the task pane, click on templates on my computer -- in the template dialog, make sure the template option button is chosen and double click blank document).
    <LI>With the new template open in Word, click Tools>Templates and Add-Ins and in the lower left corner of the dialog box, click "Organizer".
    <LI>The organizer dialog will display the Styles, AutoText, Toolbars and Macro Projects in your new template (on the left) and in Normal.dot (on the right).
    <LI>Click the Toolbars tab and click on your new toolbar in the right-hand list.
    <LI>Click Copy to copy the toolbar to the left-hand list.
    <LI>Close the dialog and save/name your new template. Don't save to the default location -- make it easy on yourself and save it to My Documents or the Desktop.[/list]Now, copy or move the template to the Startup folder in Word 2007. By default, Word uses

    Cocuments and Settingsyour nameApplication DataMicrosoftWordSTARTUP

    To double check, look in File Locations (Click on the Office Button -- round button in the upper left) and click on Word Options (lower right of the menu). Click on Advanced and 'way 'way down at the bottom left, you'll find a button called "File Locations." Click that and look to see if Startup looks like this:

    C:...MicrosoftWordSTARTUP

    If it does, this is the right location. Copy your new template to this location. This is now an add-in. The next time you open Word, you should have an Add-In tab.


    I realize this is a lot of info and I've thrown it together pretty quickly. If you have any questions, please ask. And if I've over-explained it, just skip the parts you already know.

    Best, Kim <img src=/S/bananas.gif border=0 alt=bananas width=33 height=35>

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    NY, NY, USA
    Posts
    654
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Word 2003 Toolbar with custom Icons export to 2007 (Word 2007)

    Hi Kim
    Many many thanks, I appreciate the detailed response which I will try slowly in 2 hrs when I am relaxed and can do this carefully
    I have many icons with buttons on toolbars which I could move to one toolbar that give quick shortcuts to file open and a certain document and also will run other macros which i coped from the old normal.dot to the new normal.dotm It would be nice to keep the icon graphic but not necessary i can manually redo this.
    Have you tried copying any of the wopr enveloper stuff over as well. I have just been using enveloper macro and this seems to work okay in 2003.
    Jerome

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger kmurdock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Pacific Grove, California, USA
    Posts
    716
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 34 Times in 28 Posts

    Re: Word 2003 Toolbar with custom Icons export to 2007 (Word 2007)

    Hi Jerome,

    Your pictures will move with the method I described. If your old macros are in the same place in Normal.dotm as they were in the old system, chances are good they will still run when you click the button. All my macros and toolbars are in add-in templates in the startup folder, and the button still recognizes the macro. If the instruction in the button doesn't hook up with the macro in your new normal.dotm, I'm not sure how to fix since Word 2007 doesn't give you a way to edit the toolbar. I've also found that AutoText has also been given the boot. Word 2007 has what they call Building Blocks which, in keeping with MSoft's stated desire to make everything easier, are NOT easier to create than plain old AutoText. OK, it took me three posts before I got snarky -- I think I deserve a cookie.

    I have never used the wopr template, so I can't give you any wisdom there.

    Good luck with my instructions and if anything doesn't work, post back.

    Best, K <img src=/S/bananas.gif border=0 alt=bananas width=33 height=35>

  7. #7
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    NY, NY, USA
    Posts
    654
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Word 2003 Toolbar with custom Icons export to 2007 (Word 2007)

    Hi
    So far great
    I finally found the startup directory under
    C:usersjrkappDataroamingmicrosoftwordstartup
    i guess no documents and settings any more ??roaming ??applData strange
    so far so good
    ???Is there a way of editing the buttons once you have it in 2007 as you have to scroll the ribbon left to right,the text next to the icons are too long, and it wont start a 2nd row of buttons/icons??
    many thanks
    jerome

  8. #8
    5 Star Lounger kmurdock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Pacific Grove, California, USA
    Posts
    716
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 34 Times in 28 Posts

    Re: Word 2003 Toolbar with custom Icons export to 2007 (Word 2007)

    Hi Jerome,

    If there's a way to edit the toolbars in Word 2007, I haven't found it yet. I think the Add-ins tab is only there as a legacy thing. It will display your old stuff, but no longer has a way to edit it. I suspect MSFT intended it only as a crutch until we all get familiar enought with the new environment to do away with toolbars altogether. My suggestion is to go back to Word 2003 and break your toolbar into two or three and then copy back to the startup folder. The toolbars will display on up to three lines in the Ribbon (see my previous screen shot).

    As for Vista, I've never had my hands on it. appData I kinda understand, but roaming? I guess it's set up to run on a network where you might log in at another computer. 'Course, the concept isn't new, just different from previous O/S. Someone else might know the advantages.

    Very best, Kim <img src=/S/bananas.gif border=0 alt=bananas width=33 height=35>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •