Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    135
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Quicken Basic 2007 won't back up to CD

    Sorry, not sure where this post should get filed. It involves the newest Quicken under Vista

    From Within Quicken's backup function, get a prompt. Existing path choices from the prompt drop-down do not include my CD which is E: Drive. But I can type over the C and put in E. When I press OK, the drive makes sounds and the light flashes, but when I try to look from the command prompt (or any other way) the disk is blank.

    Oh, and I've been holding down SHIFT to keep the CD auto-start, AFTER choosing "take no action" on the control panel choices. Sigh. Microsoft is not listening....again....

    I just wanted "barenaked financial files" on this CD. Do I need to create folders before they can be written? Do CDs neet to be "formatted" in 2007?

    From Win Explorer, it refers to my disk as a "blank disk."
    Now from the Command prompt, it replies to my E: request to change directories with this "the parameter is incorrect."

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Quicken Basic 2007 won't back up to CD

    Did you check the Quicken website for help?

    From this Quicken Community post, you are linked to Backing up a Quicken data file to a CD which infers you either need CD burning software supporting packet writing and/or you need to backup to a local hard drive first, then copy the files to a CD.

    I think this is a Quicken rather than Windows issue so will move this thread to the Software forum.

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Quicken Basic 2007 won't back up to CD

    In your other thread that involves you CD drive ( <post:=661,778>post 661,778</post:> ) you've said you're trying to solve a few problems, but in this case I wonder if the problems are related. Is it possible that there's some underlying problem with your E: drive hardware or its connections that might be causing your ability to read disks and/or do a Quicken backup to flake out on you?

    I wonder if you should put a "hold" on the Quicken thing and let's try to solve the general problem of "...is the darn drive working..." as it should, huh?

  4. #4
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    135
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Quicken Basic 2007 won't back up to CD

    The command prompt and WindEx (hee hee) shows content for the E drive when there is for sure something on. This is the tougher problem, I believe it is not software but hardware, how do I write to my E drive.

    What on earth is packet writing supporting software and why wouldn't it be automatic. Do we buy new cars (new computer) without shift levers? Yes, when the model is Microsoft, I guess.

    Jim

  5. #5
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Quicken Basic 2007 won't back up to CD

    Jim,
    This is from the Quicken help files: ( underlining is mine )
    -------------------------------------------------
    What can you tell me about backing up and restoring Quicken data files with a CD?

    A CD-ROM drive is a piece of hardware that requires software to work. If your operating system is Windows XP, then it includes default CD-writing software that enables you to back up information such as your Quicken data file directly to a CD. If you use another operating system, you cannot back up directly to a CD unless you install third-party software. Then, after you install the third-party software, you must format the CD for read and write access through a drive letter. Different third-party software manufacturers refer to this process by different names, but it is commonly referred to as drag-and-drop access or alternate disk drive configuration. For information about how to format the CD, refer to the manufacturer's instructions for your CD-ROM drive software.

    After you format the CD, you should be able to use the standard backup procedure to back up your Quicken data file. If the process does not work as expected and you get messages such as "Unable to access the disk in Drive [X,]" "Disk not ready," or "The device is not ready," then the CD is probably not formatted correctly. If you are unable to resolve these errors with the manufacturer's instructions for your CD-ROM drive software, your best bet is to use a workaround to bypass the CD formatting requirements.
    ---------------------------------------------------

    There is also a 27 character file name limitation to back up Quicken to a CD.

    Do you have Windows XP CD writing enabled?
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Quicken Basic 2007 won't back up to CD

    OK Jim, here's what I think we ought to do. Let's leave the subject of getting you some knowledge of "packet writing" for later and let THIS thread lie idle for a little bit. We can come back to it later and see what you have to do to backup Quicken after we verify that your hardware AND Vista are talking to one another successfully.

    Let's continue with the thread in the Vista forum since I've already said that I don't have a live copy of Vista and we might need to have some advice from the Loungers who DO have Vista running. As soon as I post this, I'm gonna go over to that thread and try to prompt a discussion of "testing" your E: drive to see if it's working properly. Can you live with this strategy? If so, join up with the thread over in Vista...

    Later...

  7. #7
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    135
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Quicken Basic 2007 won't back up to CD

    I have Vista.

    I may have a program to do this, there is a lot on this computer I haven't used yet. Are their major names associated with this kind of writing? Maybe I should call HP about this.

  8. #8
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Quicken Basic 2007 won't back up to CD

    Before I duck out of this thread because I don't have Vista,
    If you check in admin tools> services, see if there is a service called "IMAPI CD Burning COM Service" or something similar in Vista, making sure it is enabled. I would THINK Vista has a similar service.
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  9. #9
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Quicken Basic 2007 won't back up to CD

    Bob, if I may butt in here, I've asked Jim to come with me to his other thread, so let's leave this one alone, OK? I'm not entirely sure his hardware is operating correctly.

  10. #10
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Quicken Basic 2007 won't back up to CD

    OK by me.....I'm gone!
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  11. #11
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Quicken Basic 2007 won't back up to CD

    Sorry, I didn't mean to be too short on that. I don't have a "live" Vista either. Come with us to the other thread if you will and let's see how we do over there.

  12. #12
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    135
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Quicken Basic 2007 won't back up to CD

    the issue was, in Vista there is a choice on how to format. one choice which i had checked is something about "live formatting" and the other should have been checked. this is an optional looking drop down choice which i haven't used for months. too bad the error couldn't just say, 'this CD does not support live (or whatever it's called) formatting." I am just replying to the post with your question about this. I know otherwise this thread is more or less closed.

  13. #13
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Swanzey, New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    1,707
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Quicken Basic 2007 won't back up to CD

    <hr>
    the issue was, in Vista there is a choice on how to format. one choice which i had checked is something about "live formatting" and the other should have been checked. this is an optional looking drop down choice which i haven't used for months. too bad the error couldn't just say, 'this CD does not support live (or whatever it's called) formatting." I am just replying to the post with your question about this. I know otherwise this thread is more or less closed. <hr>
    "Live Formatting" is somewhat synonymous with "packet writing", i.e., when using DVD-RW or CD-RW, aka: rewritable media. After the disc is formatted files can be added using drag & drop, they can be deleted, renamed, modified, etc., exactly as if they were on a floppy, Zip, flash memory drive or HDD. See more below!!

    The best thing to do is to click on "Help and Support" on the Start Menu and in the Help dialog box, type either of the following:

    1. Burn a CD or DVD

    2. Which CD or DVD format should I use?

    In the latter, it states that you can use either a DVD +/-R/CD-R or a DVD-RW/CD-RW with "Live Formatting". However, I have never tried this and it goes against what has been commonly practiced, i.e., CD-R media generally cannot be formatted. But, from what I have read in the past, it seems that Roxio's "packet writing" utility did allow CD-R discs to be formatted. Again, I have never tried formatting a CD-R in Vista. I have formatted a DVD -R disc and it worked fine. So, what you should probably do after reading those two sections in Vista's "Help and Support:" section is to try using a CD-R disc as a test and see if it actually works as written. <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>

    Also found in the "Help and Support" section:

    <hr>
    Why are there two different ways to format a disc?
    You can choose between the Live File System and Mastered formats when creating a new recordable disc because each of these formats is used for a different purpose. The default choice is Live File System because it is a more convenient way to create a disc. When you use a Live File System disc, files are copied to the disc right away. When you use the Mastered format, files are stored in a "staging area" until you decide to burn the disc.

    When you use the Live File System format with rewriteable discs such as CD-RW and DVD-RW, you can also erase unwanted files from a disc to recover space, which is not possible with Mastered discs. On the other hand, Mastered discs are more compatible with older computers, previous versions of Windows, and other devices such as CD and DVD players. For more information, see Which CD or DVD format should I use? <hr>
    Jeff
    simul iustus et peccator

  14. #14
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    135
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Quicken Basic 2007 won't back up to CD

    My default was "Live" and after changing to "Mastered" I could write to the disk. I have old CDs that will take me a while to go through.
    Jim

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •