Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    Posts
    877
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Not Enough Space Temporary Disk (2003)

    Hello.

    Before posting I searched the Lounge but the respective threads did not help.

    I have an .mdb database with several tables. One of them (henceforth "the table") has some 400,000+ records, and is a portion of a bigger table. The database is 1.2 GB big, so being conservative the table should be at the very most 600 MB.

    Now, the problem. I want to insert a primary key field in the table. I first tried creating an autonumber, autoincrement long field using the GUI (ie, not via SQL commands). Before saving I also set it to be the primary key. When I save, Access takes a while and then throws the message:

    "Not enough space on temporary disk"

    The prompt has two options: "Ok" and "Help". When I choose the latter, the following message appears:<blockquote><hr>Not enough space on temporary disk. (Error 3183)
    You tried to perform an operation that requires more space than is available on the temporary disk. Your temporary disk location is based on the TEMP DOS environment variable, which was set when your system started.

    For example, you may be trying to create a query that creates temporary files larger than the temporary disk. Reduce the size of the temporary files by accessing smaller amounts of data at one time or increase the size of the temporary disk.

    You can increase the amount of available temporary disk space in several ways:

    Select fewer records. Dynaset-type, forward-only
    <img src=/w3timages/blue3line.gif width=33% height=2>
    <img src=/S/flags/Argentina.gif border=0 alt=Argentina width=30 height=18> <big><font color=4682b4><font face="Comic Sans MS">Diegol</font face=comic></font color=4682b4> </big>

  2. #2
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Sydney, Australia, New South Wales, Australia
    Posts
    251
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Not Enough Space Temporary Disk (2003)

    I'm guessing that the HD actually does have plenty of space on it? How much free space do you have on the Temp file drive?
    Peter

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

    Re: Not Enough Space Temporary Disk (2003)

    I think you're running into the file size limit for Access. This limit is 2 gigabytes minus the space needed for system objects such as the MSysIndexes table. My guess is that Access makes a temporary copy of the table when you're adding a field and/or index, causing the total size to approach 2 GB.

    If you really need databases this big, consider using SQL Server instead of Access to store the data.

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    Posts
    877
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Not Enough Space Temporary Disk (2003)

    Hi Peter,

    Yes, my only drive is C: and there are 8 Gig free. Thanks.
    <img src=/w3timages/blue3line.gif width=33% height=2>
    <img src=/S/flags/Argentina.gif border=0 alt=Argentina width=30 height=18> <big><font color=4682b4><font face="Comic Sans MS">Diegol</font face=comic></font color=4682b4> </big>

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    Posts
    877
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Not Enough Space Temporary Disk (2003)

    Hello Hans,

    Thanks for your response. I thought that since the table, at most, represented 600 MB out of the 1.2 GB, adding a new field shouldn't take as much as the whole table and thus it shouldn't be an MDB size limite issue. However your consideration of the temporary copy of the table made me rethink about it.

    What I tried doing is import the table to a new .mdb file and then tried adding the autonumber field there. The size limit should indeed be far from being an issue. However, I got the same prompt. I checked the %temp% folder and the files showed a similar behaviour, increasing to 222 MB, a short pause, then the prompt.

    I somehow happened to think that maybe the 222 MB limit was to this "temporary" file where Access would work when adding the field (maybe rewriting the whole table as you say), and so deleted some fields (some of the text fields, which I think are more HD consuming) in the hope maybe the JETE22A.tmp file wouldn't rocket to the limit. I don't know if I was right or not, but the fact is it worked.

    Thanks for your help! <img src=/S/thankyou.gif border=0 alt=thankyou width=40 height=15>
    <img src=/w3timages/blue3line.gif width=33% height=2>
    <img src=/S/flags/Argentina.gif border=0 alt=Argentina width=30 height=18> <big><font color=4682b4><font face="Comic Sans MS">Diegol</font face=comic></font color=4682b4> </big>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •