Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18
  1. #1
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Hover to Activate (XP SP-2)

    Somewhere/how, my menus have decided not to obey my mouse.

    When I hover over an item in my start menu, nothing happens till I click it.

    I know there's an adjustment in right-clicking the Start Menu (Properties / Customize / Advanced / Open Submenu...) and that IS checked... but it ain't working.

    Is there a way to check or fix this?

    Regards,
    Chuck Billow
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Hover to Activate (XP SP-2)

    I don't know if this'll help but Kelly has two items on her Tweaks list at #161 and #165 that you might look at.

    Troubleshooting Windows XP, Tweaks and Fixes for Windows XP

  3. #3
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Hover to Activate (XP SP-2)

    Didn't seem to, Doc. And exactly when slipped by me... I'm not sure exactly how long it's been this way...

    Pooh!

    Thanks though...

    Regards,
    Chuck Billow
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,592
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: Hover to Activate (XP SP-2)

    In TweakUI isn't there a setting for the number of milliseconds to delay a menu flyout?

    Joe
    Joe

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Hover to Activate (XP SP-2)

    Well, I'm at a loss, Chuck. I was going to next suggest you try UN-checking the option and turn it back ON, so I tried un-checking on my machine and the submenus still open when I hover on them, even without the check of the option. I don't know what the answer is.

  6. #6
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Hover to Activate (XP SP-2)

    Joe:

    There is a setting, and it's set to 600 ms. But the Start Menu (and other context menus, for instance) still require a click on a item to get the activation.

    Regards,
    Chuck Billow
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  7. #7
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,592
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: Hover to Activate (XP SP-2)

    Try changing it to something else and change it back. Have you re-booted the PC recently? What else have you changed?

    Joe
    Joe

  8. #8
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Hover to Activate (XP SP-2)

    Joe:

    I tried turning it off then on, tried uninstalling and re-installing the software, tried cleaning the registry...

    I *must've* set something that caused this, because nothing else seems out of whack.

    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  9. #9
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,592
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: Hover to Activate (XP SP-2)

    Uninstalling & reinstalling what? Have you tried a System Restore?

    Joe
    Joe

  10. #10
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Hover to Activate (XP SP-2)

    The mouse (IntelliPoint) software ...

    Tried restoring the registry; I'll look at the R Points...

    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  11. #11
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,592
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: Hover to Activate (XP SP-2)

    How did you 'restore' the registry?

    Joe
    Joe

  12. #12
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Hover to Activate (XP SP-2)

    WinRescue XP -- ( http://superwin.com/index.htm )

    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  13. #13
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,592
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: Hover to Activate (XP SP-2)

    What restore mode did you use - from DOS or XP? You do realize how dangerous it is to restore just the registry if you've done an changes at all to your system since the registry was backed up?

    Joe
    Joe

  14. #14
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Hover to Activate (XP SP-2)

    The restoe of the registry is /was from within Windows (then completed on re-boot); it can be risky, I know, unless you've a fair idea of what changes you'd made since...

    I may just restore an image, as this is too time-intensive. I just wish I knoew what had caused it, but, oh well...

    Thanks, Joe and Al...
    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  15. #15
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,592
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: Hover to Activate (XP SP-2)

    Yet another reason to not make many changes to a system without running for a while to see the overall effect(s). It sure makes debugging a difficult proposition.

    Joe
    Joe

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •