Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger Lou Sander's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Posts
    855
    Thanks
    140
    Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts

    Transferring Toolbars to Another Computer (2003)

    I've customized my toolbars and my menu, and have a handful of special macros in my PERSONAL.xls workbook. Everything works fine, and has been stable for many months. I just got an additional computer and installed Excel 2003. I moved my PERSONAL.xls and Office11.xlb files to the proper places on the new machine.

    When I open Office11.xlb in the new machine, my customized menu and toolbar appear on the screen, and the special features, custom buttons, etc. all work fine. The macros in PERSONAL.xls also show up and run. But when I open a New workbook, Excel's default menu and toolbars appear -- my custom stuff is nowhere to be found.

    How do I get my custom toolbars and menu to appear on all my workbooks?
    Lou Sander
    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
    USA

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Transferring Toolbars to Another Computer (2003)

    I'd double check that you have placed the .xlb file in "the proper place(s) on the new machine". You could check the proper place by seeing where Excel creates a new .xlb file if there is none, then replace the new one with theone from the older PC.

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger Lou Sander's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Posts
    855
    Thanks
    140
    Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts

    Re: Transferring Toolbars to Another Computer (2003)

    Interesting.

    My "right place" was and is C:/Documents and Settings/Louis/Application Data/Microsoft/Excel.

    I renamed my customized .xlb file, then opened Excel, created and saved a document, then looked for Excel11.xlb. It wasn't anywhere on my machine. I vaguely remembered that you have to change a toolbar before Excel11.xlb is created. I did that, and indeed, such a file was created.

    I deleted it, then renamed my customized file as Excel11.xlb, and everything now works fine.

    I guess Excel doesn't recognize Excel11.xlb until it first makes a copy itself.

    Thanks for the tip -- it got me on the right track.
    Lou Sander
    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
    USA

  4. #4
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    South Carolina, USA
    Posts
    7,295
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Transferring Toolbars to Another Computer (2003)

    I have found in earlier versions of XL (I don't have anything later than 2000 since I don't install anything that contains the Registration/Activation Wizard), that after placing a .xlb in the right place on a machine that does not have a .xlb that you have to double click on the .xlb file to open it and then close XL before it is recognized, or do what you did to get XL to create one and then replace it.
    Legare Coleman

  5. #5
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,609
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Transferring Toolbars to Another Computer (2003)

    Hello Legare
    <hr>I don't have anything later than 2000 since I don't install anything that contains the Registration/Activation Wizard<hr>
    Might I ask why?

    T.I.A.
    Regards
    Don

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Transferring Toolbars to Another Computer (2003)

    Please don't open that can of worms! <img src=/S/flee.gif border=0 alt=flee width=25 height=25>

  7. #7
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    South Carolina, USA
    Posts
    7,295
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Transferring Toolbars to Another Computer (2003)

    Because I don't trust Microsofts programmers (the same ones that wrote their security code that has to be patched several times a week) to create bug free code that will not decide that I have illegally installed the software that I paid for and refuse to let me have access to my data or computer.
    Legare Coleman

  8. #8
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,609
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Transferring Toolbars to Another Computer (2003)

    Thank you Legare
    Nuff said.
    Regards
    Don

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •