Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
    Posts
    334
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Charting Data Using Line-Column on 2 Axis (Excel 2003 SP2)

    When I highlight my data and open the Charting Wizard (Line-Column on 2 Axis) I can get a chart pretty much in the format I am expecting. But I am unable to add a column of data to be plotted on the Primary Axis. Instead, Excel automatically adds the new data plotted on the second x-axis. Then, when I change this new data from Secondary Axis to Primary the Line format is retained instead of reverting to a Bar. Is there a way to change this line to a bar? Is there a way to set up my data so that I can avoid the issue from the start?

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Charting Data Using Line-Column on 2 Axis (Excel 2003 SP2)

    Click once on the Kitchen FTEs series to select it.
    Select Chart | Chart Type...
    Select Column, and click OK.

    PS were the replies to <post:=654,188>post 654,188</post:>, <post:=655,571>post 655,571</post:> and <post:=657,800>post 657,800</post:> useful? You didn't post any reaction, so other Loungers don't know whether the problem was solved.

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Charting Data Using Line-Column on 2 Axis (Excel 2003 SP2)

    Another way of creating the chart would have been:
    - Create a column chart.
    - Select the Covers series.
    - Select Chart | Chart Type...
    - Select Line and click OK.
    - Select Format | Selected Series...
    - Activate the Axis tab and specify that the series should use the secondary Y axis.

  4. #4
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
    Posts
    334
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Charting Data Using Line-Column on 2 Axis (Excel 2003 SP2)

    Thanks Hans that did it.

    I tried all other menu options to get that data to chart as a column. I supposed that by selecting Chart Type of any type my entire chart world revert to the new selection.

    Apologies for not having posted replies to the solutions in the posts you cite. There are replies now.

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Charting Data Using Line-Column on 2 Axis (Excel 2003 SP2)

    If you select a series, then change the chart type, the change will be applied to the selected series only. If you haven't selected a series, the change will be applied to the entire chart.

  6. #6
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
    Posts
    334
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Charting Data Using Line-Column on 2 Axis (Excel 2003 SP2)

    I don't think I ever tried selecting a series first, then changing the chart type. But . . . that's why I come to Woody's Lounge.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •