Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    London/Kingston, Surrey, United Kingdom
    Posts
    515
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    DHCP Configuration + DNS

    Hi all,
    I have installed DHCP and configured ti but when i try to join a vista PC to the domain I get the following error: "An attempt to resolve the DNS name of a DC in the domain being joined failed. Please verify this client is configured ro reach a DNS server that can resolve DNS names in the target domain" Any help much appreciated.

    Skender

  2. Subscribe to our Windows Secrets Newsletter - It's Free!

    Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

    Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

    + Get this BONUS — free!

    Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

  3. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,179
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 560 Times in 500 Posts

    Re: DHCP Configuration + DNS

    <P ID="edit" class=small>(Edited by joeperez on 13-Sep-07 08:24. Added Vista footnotes link)</P>Which version of Vista are you running? Only Business, Ultimate, & Enterprise can join domains. See Windows Vista Footnotes for more information about feature/edition limtations.

    Joe

  4. #3
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    London/Kingston, Surrey, United Kingdom
    Posts
    515
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: DHCP Configuration + DNS

    I am running Windows Vista Business. I have successfully joined a windows 2000 machine but not vista business.

    Cheers,

  5. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,179
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 560 Times in 500 Posts

    Re: DHCP Configuration + DNS

    are you sure you spelled the domain name correctly? Are you using a user account that has permissions to join the domain? What server OS are you running? Are the Vist PC and server up-to-date with MS patches?

    Joe

  6. #5
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    London/Kingston, Surrey, United Kingdom
    Posts
    515
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: DHCP Configuration + DNS

    I did spell the domain nme correctly as it promts for user name and password and I did type in the correct adminsitrators password. The Server is Windows 2003 RC2 Server and it has all the updates. Vista machine is also all up to date.

    Thanks,

  7. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,179
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 560 Times in 500 Posts

    Re: DHCP Configuration + DNS


  8. #7
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    London/Kingston, Surrey, United Kingdom
    Posts
    515
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: DHCP Configuration + DNS

    cheers guys it worked.

  9. #8
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    London/Kingston, Surrey, United Kingdom
    Posts
    515
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: DHCP Configuration + DNS

    Joe,
    It only works if you specify the DNS address on the network connection, otherwise it does not.
    Cheers

  10. #9
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,179
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 560 Times in 500 Posts

    Re: DHCP Configuration + DNS

    Terrific!!! <img src=/S/clapping.gif border=0 alt=clapping width=19 height=23>. Glad you figured it out.

    Joe

  11. #10
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    London/Kingston, Surrey, United Kingdom
    Posts
    515
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: DHCP Configuration + DNS

    Forgot to mention that I had to modify the forward zone in DNS server, e.g. test to test.local.

    Cheers again

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •