Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Taranaki, New Zealand
    Posts
    193
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    symbols in dropdowns (XP)

    Good morning
    I'm trying to add a symbol to a drop down in a form. I would like the "tick" to go there.
    However, it gives me a square box or an u with umlaut.

    Thanks for any help

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: symbols in dropdowns (XP)

    Is this a dropdown list from the Forms toolbar? If so, you have a problem. You can set the font for the dropdown to Wingdings and add the character to the list. It'll be displayed as a tick character in the document, but as in the dropdown list, which is confusing to users. I'm afraid there's little you can do about this, the Forms dropdown is rather archaic. You could use a combo box from the Control Toolbox instead.
    Or did you mean a combo box on a userform (created in the Visual Basic Editor).

  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Taranaki, New Zealand
    Posts
    193
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: symbols in dropdowns (XP)

    I try to do it in the forms toolbar. Not sure how to do it in a combo box.
    Word isn't my forte and I'm kinda struggling here.

    Can you explain how to use the combo box ??

    Thanks again

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: symbols in dropdowns (XP)

    A combo box from the Control Toolbox is much more flexible than the dropdown from the Forms toolbar, but it has some disadvantages:

    - It has to be populated using code in the Document_Open event in the ThisDocument module, for example:

    Private Sub Document_Open()
    With Me.ComboBox1
    .AddItem "This"
    .AddItem "That"
    .AddItem "Other"
    End With
    End Sub

    - It'll only work if the user enables macros.

    Why do you need a tick symbol in a dropdown list/combo box?

  5. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Taranaki, New Zealand
    Posts
    193
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: symbols in dropdowns (XP)

    I'm doing this form for one of the councils here. So when they want a tick that is what I'll do.
    I can't check their computers, so I will have to change to tick to OK..
    Shame.
    Anyway thanks heaps for your time and help

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: symbols in dropdowns (XP)

    When I had to do something similar, I used a graphic of a tick on a button. Depending on the design of your form you may be able to do something like this.

    StuartR

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •