Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    When I get older...and forgetful

    I can't believe how many of these little "nuisance" issues I run across.

    The taskbar in NT occasionally "forgets" that it is always supposed to be on top. To fix the problem, I have to right click, go to properties, and change something so I can re-apply the taskbar properties - and then for a while the taskbar is on top again.

    Not significant, mind you, but I'm wondering why NT would forget or not apply properties for the taskbar....how is this done?
    -Mark

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: When I get older...and forgetful

    Try <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.jsiinc.com/subd/tip1600/rh1629.htm>JSI Tip#1629</A>

  3. #3
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: When I get older...and forgetful

    Thanks Leif, now we play the game of wait and see! So far it seems to have resolved it but only time will tell.
    -Mark

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: When I get older...and forgetful

    NT is getting tired, need to upgrade to 2K or XP <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  5. #5
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: When I get older...and forgetful

    Tired, yes, very, but until the ole company decides tio migrate I'm stuck!! Anyone who doesn't think that Microsoft is getting better with their Windows products ought to try NT 4 for a week after using 98 or 2000. Youch!
    -Mark

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: When I get older...and forgetful

    I agree, before retirement, I was using NT 3.5 and 4.0 on some Dell machines running CAD software. We had to Defrag at lunch time so we could continue to work in the afternoon.
    <img src=/S/evilgrin.gif border=0 alt=evilgrin width=15 height=15> <img src=/S/bash.gif border=0 alt=bash width=35 height=39>

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  7. #7
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: When I get older...and forgetful

    Sorry to say....no dice. The registry key noted in JSI's collection did not fix the problem.

    It seems to be related to standby. The PC in question is a Compaq Deskpro, for what that's worth - and the NT installation has been updated to the very latest everything (ATI drivers, IE 5.5SP2, yada yada).

    I suspect this little annoyance is here to stay but any ideas towards banishing it would be welcome.
    -Mark

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: When I get older...and forgetful

    Running McAfee, perchance?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •