Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 23

Thread: AT&T Webmail

  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Crane, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    AT&T Webmail

    Help! I have my sons hand-me-down xp home service pk 2, ie 7. Now here is my problem I uninstalled his aol account and put on at&t from disc. everything went fine until I tried to compose or reply and then I don't have stationary, color or highlite. AT&T has gone in on my computer with my pass word and sent me a test email saying it was in color but it wasn't. Has to be some security setting but WHAT? Everything else in email seems to work fine.
    Thanks Holmesand

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: AT&T Webmail

    Good morning and welcome to Woody's Lounge, Jean! Before I ask my question, which involves AT&T, you might go back in to your Lounge profile and do two things. It doesn't do any good to have a phony email address in there, so you could just delete it. Also, the AT&T link you list as a homepage is invalid. You should either correct it or remove it also.

    Now, the reason I ask about AT&T is because of the SUBJECT of this thread. You asked a question about AT&T Webmail and I wanted to verify that it's webmail and NOT email using software on your local machine like Outlook or Thunderbird or something else? In other words, when you want to do email, are you running your browser (IE) and go to an AT&T link for email and see something like the attached shot to login to YOUR AT&T email account?

    I think if that's the case, it will be difficult to help you from here since I'm not an AT&T subscriber and am not allowed in to their Members area to check things out. If I'm way off base and you're talking about Outlook or some other software on your computer, let me know and we'll go from there.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  3. #3
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: AT&T Webmail

    I use Outlook 2007 with AT&T dial-up mail, and also have used the web site (in classic view). If you can provide more specific information about your setup, we might be able to help.

  4. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Crane, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: AT&T Webmail

    Thanks for your reply. When I logon to the internet I click AT&T icon and it takes me to AT&T World Net then I click on mail and it takes me to the Webmail login. I do not use outlook or any other email. I installed the my email from AT&T world net. I don't have any other problems with my email except for the three things I mentioned. I have win 95 with an earlier version of world net and I have color etc on it. I am using the classic version. As for browser that was going to be my next posting question because when I logon to the internet at the top of page it says internet explorer could not display this page?But the page is displayed. I have ie7.Virus protection Avast, Spysweeper, windows firewall and what ever virus control at&t has.
    The attachment shows exactly what I log on to.to go to webmail. I have been working on this for two wks, posted with at&t webnews group, called customer service. Etc.
    Thanks Holmesand

  5. #5
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Saint Charles, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    565
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: AT&T Webmail

    I am going to take a stab at this, but not sure it will help. My background for the suggestions are based on a computer I recently had to fix.

    First, if you can access the internet, can you access the e-mail and send/receive - just NOT have access to the stationary that you once had ? If this is the case, you stationary may have been part of the AOL Functions/installations NOT AT&T.

    If you can NOT access the e-mail BUT have access to internet, try accessing the AT&T e-mail from http://mail.yahoo.com AT&T merged with Cingular which merged with http://www.yahoo.com. You should get access to the e-mail (the computer I fixed had an old Worldnet account hat we accessed via the http://mail.yahoo.com link. When you compose an e-mail online, there should be a button for stationary - but is based on THEIR default stationary - not ones you may have downloaded.

    BTB - When I fixed the computer which had the old Worldnet account, we uninstalled and removed all Worldnet software. I just setup a simple dialup for internet access and he uses FireFox to access the E-mail online.

    HTH and sorry if I missed the intent of your question.
    Scott

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Crane, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: AT&T Webmail

    I have never had stationary, color or highlight in my webmail that I installed from disc on this computer win ex laptop. I have a win 95 desktop that is on this same account and it has stationary, color and highlight.
    I installed a newer version of webmail on this computer than I have on my 95 but the mail still comes to both computers. I have no problem getting on line and sending messages or receiving messages I just can't use all the options I should be able to use in my Webmail. Webmail newsgroups tells me it is a security problem, maybe script isn't enabled active x and it goes on and on I do what I'm told and still nothing works. It has to be just a simple internet option setting but what?I have dial up service.
    Thanks Holmesand

  7. #7
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Saint Charles, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    565
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: AT&T Webmail

    What kind of firewall and/or antivirus protection are you using (to see if this is blocking something coming into the messages) ?

    Also, check with the webmail help online to make sure you are not blocking a port that might be required for the stationary, highlight, or color.

    Are there any view settings that need to be enabled ? Have you tried using Firefox Browser in lieu of IE & to see if it is browser dependent ?

    Sorry - this is all I can think of at this time.
    Scott

  8. #8
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Crane, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: AT&T Webmail

    Thanks Scott
    I have Avast virus, spysweeper, win firewall and the virus protection that at&t has on their webmail. Webnews group ask that question and I turned them all off and still no color. The port is a new question and i will get on it also the view settings it another option no one has suggested. I would rather stay with ie 7 if I can as I don't have a clue what or how FF works. I just want this machine to work the way it is suppose to. I am not one to give up.
    Thanks again
    Holmesand

  9. #9
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: AT&T Webmail

    I use IE6, so I'm not sure this is going to help...

    In Classic view, a number of JavaScript files are used to create that little toolbar with the controls for font face, size, stationery, highlighter, bold, italic, etc. Some questions:

    Do all of the tools function other than stationery and highlighter?

    If you click the stationery button, do you get the drop-down list of stationery? Do you get the color palette?

    If you don't get those palettes, I wonder whether IE might be supressing them as "pop-ups"? They do not appear to be pop-up windows in the usual sense, but as they appear in front of the document, perhaps IE7 treats them the same way?

  10. #10
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Crane, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: AT&T Webmail

    I had ie 6 and downloaded ie 7 at AT&T webnews suggestion. I didn't have color with 6 either. I went to outlook express and I have same problem there. Everything else on the toolbar works except for the three stationary, color and highlite. The stationary palette drops down and has writing in it but when I click on something nothing happens, the color drops down as a box with nothing in it. I tried turning off pop-up stopper and still nothing. What are the chances I don't have script ck'ed correct? What and where should I ck for that in internet options? this is what AT&T Webmail told me on my last post so I am on my own with them.
    FROM WEBMAIL NEWS
    Jean we've suggested so many things, none of which seems to have helped.
    Unfortunately if you can't do it in Outlook Express either then it's not
    our webmail system that's at fault. Instead, there's got to be something
    running on your system that's preventing it from working right. It would
    be very hard for us to continue guessing, however.

    Thanks
    Holmesand (Jean)

  11. #11
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: AT&T Webmail

    Okay, this page is a little complicated. <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>

    When you click the stationery button, a hidden frame is revealed. The inline frame contains two documents side-by-side, a navigation frame on the left and a preview frame on the right. When you click a theme name, it runs a script to change the CSS class of the body of the message you are composing:

    <code>function setSt(themename) {
    parent.parent.frames["editArea"].document.body.className=themename;
    }</code>


    So, first let's see whether the className is getting changed to the new theme name.
    <UL><LI>Compose a new message and pop up the stationery list. Choose Technology. Normally you see a black background with green CRT-looking text in the left column. I assume this one doesn't work any better than the others for you.

    <LI>If the address bar is not displayed, right-click the menu area and choose Address Bar. Copy and paste the following fragment of script into your address bar and press Enter. It should display the theme name tech-left:

    <code>java script:alert(document.frames["editArea"].document.body.className); void 0;</code>[/list]Hmmm, what did you get?
    <UL><LI>If you got a blank box, then the script that applies the theme is failing for some reason. We could turn on script error messages to try to get more information.

    <LI>If you got the name of the theme, then IE is configured not to display it for some reason. Check Tools>Internet Options..., Accessibility... The first checkbox would disable background colors in the editing box and in the color palette. If that is checked, and you don't need it, clear it and see whether that solves the problem.[/list]Hoping this helps. <img src=/S/crossfingers.gif border=0 alt=crossfingers width=17 height=16>

  12. #12
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Crane, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: AT&T Webmail

    I have been working on this and getting no where. I can use my win 95 and copy and paste after composing and get a box with active x. reason being I have all options in the 95.When I right click on this machine in menue area I get a drop down but no address bar to select like I have in win 95. No I don't have anything in my stationary. I went to accessibility and unchecked color, nothing happened. Maybe there is something I am doing wrong trying to copy and paste the javascript that you told me to. I tried it on win 95 just to make sure I could do it.

    Now I am wondering if I have two pop-up blockers? ie 7 has pop-up blocker and at&t is suppose to have panic ware which is pop-up blocker but I can't find it. the disc I installed from says it has it.
    I just can't believe this has to be so difficult. I ck'ed programs running on start up and seemed like a lot but I sure didn't muck around with anything. I have learned if I don't know "why" then best leave along.
    I will await further instructions.
    Thanks
    Holmesand

  13. #13
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: AT&T Webmail

    > No I don't have anything in my stationary.
    The area where you normally get a list of different themes is empty? I have not loaded IE7 yet, so I can't replicate this problem on my system.

  14. #14
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Crane, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: AT&T Webmail

    I said that wrong. I have stationary but it is in black and white not color. I can't select it and get anything not even in black. Now the color box will drop down but just a blank box.
    I like ie7 but would not have installed it except for at&t telling me to.
    Thanks
    Holmesand

  15. #15
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: AT&T Webmail

    > I have stationary but it is in black and white not color. I can't select it and get anything not even in black.

    > Now the color box will drop down but just a blank box.

    It sounds as though background colors are blocked. The Accessibility dialog's Colors option is one way that this could be set. Is there anything else set in that dialog that might relate to colors or style sheets? If so, try clearing it and returning to "default" IE7 behavior.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •