Platinum Lounger
    Thanks

NCR carbonless paper

I am trying to print receipts for a client.
    I have a stock of 3-part NCR carbonless paper from my local print shop.
    It seems to lose its effect after passing through the laser printer.
    Any advice would be appreciated.

Details:
    I'm new to this, but had the world's best physics teacher in high school.
    I took a triplet of paper, white, yellow and pink, and noted that the yellow and pink had smudges on one side.
    I printed my first page of receipts 3 times, feeding a sheet of white, yellow and pink into the single-sheet feed of my HP2600N colour printer.
    I kept a note that I'd fed it in "smudge side up", so that if it didn't work I'd know to feed it next time "smudge side down".

The print quality is good. Crisp. The client's coloured logo looks great.

I guillotined the receipts and stapled them into a booklet, inserted a cardboard sleeve after the first triplet, and wrote myself a receipt with a heavy-hand on a ball-point pen - and found no reproduction on the pink and yellow.
    There is an obvious indentation, but not what you would call easily readable in a court of law.

First thought: Should've been smudge-side down. Flipped the triplet and wrote on the back of the pink (hence through to the yellow and white) "DARN!" in the same heavy hand with the same tongue sticking out the same corner of the same mouth.

nada.

second thought: The heat of the laser de-sensitizes the ink.

Third thought: use up a second of my precious ten triplets and make a small mark (ball-point, heavy-hand, tongue etc) on the margin.
    Works fine. So I know that my local print shop didn't slip me 30 sheets of plain white, pink, yellow at 10c/sheet.

It is functioning carbonless paper, but the laser appears to de-sensitize it.