Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger AndrewKKWalker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Cambridge, UK
    Posts
    1,020
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    Use MSCOMM32.ocx in Access (2000 to 2003)

    How can I get a copy of MSCOMM32.ocx to be licenced to work within an Access Application.

    I can use this on my PC (BUT I have VB6 PRO and VBNet) and so have the licence.
    If I try to use it on other machines it does NOT work.
    Although the control is registered and the library in Tools References.
    The control says that it is NOT Licenced for use.
    Andrew

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Use MSCOMM32.ocx in Access (2000 to 2003)

    Can you make an installation package with VB6 or VB.Net that includes MSComm32.ocx?

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger AndrewKKWalker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Cambridge, UK
    Posts
    1,020
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    Re: Use MSCOMM32.ocx in Access (2000 to 2003)

    We'd tried that but although it registers the ocx, it doesn't allow Access to use the control
    although the vb app can use it.
    Andrew

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Use MSCOMM32.ocx in Access (2000 to 2003)

    I have no experience with this, but you'll probably need the Access 2003 Developer Extensions, part of the Visual Studio Tools for Office.

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger AndrewKKWalker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Cambridge, UK
    Posts
    1,020
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    Re: Use MSCOMM32.ocx in Access (2000 to 2003)

    I can get the 2007 developer extensions download package.
    I guess we could buy Visual Studio Developer 2005
    There appears to be NO download for 2003 Developer Extensions
    although there is a web page about it.
    Might just be easier to buy in an RS232 COM Port active X control.
    Andrew

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •