Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20
  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Saint Charles, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    565
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Server not found error. (FireFox 2.0.0.7)

    HELP ! ! !

    I am getting a Server not found

    Firefox can't find the server at www.wopr.com. error.

    I loaded two IDENTICAL Dell Latitude D600 Notebooks (Centrino 1.8 GHZ, 1 GB DDR, 100GB HDD, XP Pro OS) with the same restoration disk (using appropriate COA per computer).

    I added FireFox with updates (2.0.0.7), ZoneAlarm (7.0.337.000), and McAfee Security Center V7.2.

    Both computers connected to internet via DSL off the same router.

    Computer A can access the internet with no problems or errors. Computer B can access the internet AFTER receiving the above error the first time. Hit Refresh and the website in question comes up. Other websites will generally come up first try, however, occasionally I get the above error when typing the website address for the first time.

    The workaround seems to be, hit refresh and the website is found.

    I tried using the existing IE 6 browser, same type of behavior of Computer B.

    As near as I can tell, BOTH computers have the same settings (I have them side by side).

    Any suggestions ?
    Scott

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Server not found error. (FireFox 2.0.0.7)

    Check you Hosts file to see if you have wopr.com and/or www.wopr.com entries on the machine that you can NOT get into wopr.com.
    If so, remove these entries as they are for the OLD ip (before the crash).

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Server not found error. (FireFox 2.0.0.7)

    Did this by chance happen yesterday, Scott? For some reason, on and off yesterday, I was experiencing some quite slow response times, even while INSIDE the Lounge and moving around from screen to screen. It never timed out or gave me any errors as yours did, but I wonder if it was a small server glitch that has now gone away. I left for several hours and when I came home, the problem didn't occur any more.

    Edited: Oops, I didn't notice that your post was NOT yesterday. Sorry.

  4. #4
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Saint Charles, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    565
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Server not found error. (FireFox 2.0.0.7)

    No problem BigAL !

    Problem has been happening since the system was put together ~2 weeks ago and is still going on now.
    Scott

  5. #5
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Saint Charles, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    565
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Server not found error. (FireFox 2.0.0.7)

    I checked the Host file, but as expected there is no entry in there. I do not have anything in the host file except for the network IP addresses needed for the computers when they get to their final work designations.

    NOTE: I used Woody's Lounge as an example. I get this error on all but a select few websites that are accessed the first time. Also, it only happens on machine B not machine A which are identical and setup from the SAME Recovery disk, the only difference being the appropriate COA Numbers entered into their respective machines.

    If I can not find a solution and the user doesn't want the "Workaround" of hitting the refresh button, I will wipe the disk clean and re-start the whole process over again. <img src=/S/frown.gif border=0 alt=frown width=15 height=15>
    Scott

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Server not found error. (FireFox 2.0.0.7)

    Will the network settings be the same if they are 'cloned'?

    Check what DHCP and DNS settings you have.

    Does machine B work OK if machine A is not connected?

  7. #7
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Saint Charles, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    565
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Server not found error. (FireFox 2.0.0.7)

    <font face="BrushScript BT">Edited ~ 0610 CDT 10/07/2007 to correct spelling</font face=brush>

    Sorry for the response time delay Leif,

    Right now both machines are in "Default" mode, just being hooked up to the DSL. So answer, yes the DNS and DHCP settings are the same -default and automatic.

    And, unfortunately, No - Machine B does NOT work when Machine A is not connected.

    I have even tried a couple of applications that will automatically tune internet and browser performance on machine B. I still get the problem of machine B having a server not found error, click refresh and website is displayed.

    While I am rapidly coming to the conclusion I will have to re-build the machine, I am going to review the installation files for both machines to see if any differences occurred here. I'm just to blasted stubborn not to find out what happened. Unfortunately, I need to complete this project for Monday morning.

    Thanks for the suggestions.
    Scott

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Server not found error. (FireFox 2.0.0.7)

    Hey Scott, a "left field" question. Does this first-time problem on machine B happen if you use IE? The reason I ask is I was just wondering if the Fx installation on that machine got somehow corrupted, i.e. an Options setting somewhere deep down in those screens that causes it to "time out" on the first try but succeed on the next try. Just thinking, or trying to anyhoo...

  9. #9
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Saint Charles, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    565
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Server not found error. (FireFox 2.0.0.7)

    Hi BigAl !

    The answer is YES, machine B acts the same way wether I am using IE6 or FireFox. I could not find any settings showing a delay on FireFox. I had run a couple of "Optimizers" to see if this would help - no joy

    I even (EXTREME shudder) turned off Zone Alarm and McAfee to see if this was an issue with FireFox or IE6 - blasted problem continues.

    I am about to watch the Cheese Head game (for those non-USA Fans - American Football) and finish reviewing the installation files on the two computers. I will initial a re-build when the game is done and go form there.

    I suspect you are correct in that there is a timing/delay variable that can be adjusted - I just can not find it. <img src=/S/frown.gif border=0 alt=frown width=15 height=15>
    Scott

  10. #10
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Server not found error. (FireFox 2.0.0.7)

    Well, I didn't help you with the computer problem and Favre didn't help his CheeseHead fans either, letting a patchwork (QB) Bears team beat them, ON Lambeau Field no less! Sorry 'bout the end of the win streak, Scott...

  11. #11
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: Server not found error. (FireFox 2.0.0.7)

    Have you checked the router settings?

    Joe
    Joe

  12. #12
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Saint Charles, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    565
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Server not found error. (FireFox 2.0.0.7)

    Thanks - I don't know why Favre changed strategy from the first half - hope they take the lessons to heart. I do appreciate the help - you never know where the answer may lie.
    Scott

  13. #13
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Saint Charles, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    565
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Server not found error. (FireFox 2.0.0.7)

    Hi Joe,

    I put machine B directly on the DSL modem when I could not find any problems with the router settings (both machines were on the router at the same time, no problem with machine A).

    I am in the process of re-building machine B. I need to get the project done and can not afford to wait any longer.

    Thanks for the thought.
    Scott

  14. #14
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: Server not found error. (FireFox 2.0.0.7)

    Well, if you still have problems I'd suspect a hardware issue. If the PC has an integrated NIC, try a PCI NIC. Change the network cable.

    Joe
    Joe

  15. #15
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Saint Charles, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    565
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Server not found error. (FireFox 2.0.0.7)

    Joe,

    Cable did not work - I did try that. As for the NIC, yes it was an integrated NIC. I honestly did not consider a PCI NIC card since the machine was new and everything else checked out fine. The internet could be accessed - just NOT on the first try. To me this is a settings issue somewhere.

    A side note, I have finished rebuilding machine B and it now seems to be working - NO CLUE WHY.

    I am going to do a final comparison on the installation log files for build 1 and build 2 on machine B. Although machine B is now working as it is supposed to, I would like to crack the reason why. I am beginning to wonder if this is not a similar problem to what I saw on my eMachine concerning svchost.exe and the wireless portion of the network.

    BTB-I today I received two e-mails (different users oin different systems) concerning the same type of problem, First time toi access the internet, receive the Server not found error - refresh and the website comes up.

    I will re-post if I find anything out.
    Scott

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •