Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Not able to add Admin.Account (Vista)

    I used to have one Administrator, one Standart and one Guest Account. But all of a sudden, User Account Control wouldn't let me open or install certain programs on my Standart Account, so I logged on to my Admin one to check the settings. I didn't do anything or if, I don't know how or when, but my Admin Account is a Standart Account now, too which means I cannot add another Administrator Account. Now, it is impossible for me to do kind of anything which annoys me very much since I just got the laptop. Therefore, I tried to find a solution in the "Vista for Dummies" book but I found out that it is actually not possible to delete an administrator because Vista will not let you/ it needs at least one administrator. Well, there is no and I have absolutely no clue what to do. Please, send me any help, tips and advice you have. Thanks a lot.

  2. #2
    5 Star Lounger PaulB's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Ottawa, Ontario
    Posts
    765
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Not able to add Admin.Account (Vista)

    Maybe this might help...

    <hr>Where's the built-in Administrator account?

    In previous versions of Windows, many users used the built-in Administrator account on a regular basis. This account has full control over everything on the computer. When you install Vista, you may be surprised to learn that the Administrator account is disabled by default. That's to encourage you to follow best practices and create your own administrative account. It also makes it a little harder for hackers; they all knew that the account named Administrator existed and so had half of what they needed (the account name) to log on with it.

    You can enable the built-in Administrator account if you really want to, by running the Command Prompt as administrator (right click its icon and select Run as Administrator; click Continue at the UAC prompt) and typing the following:

    net user administrator /active:yes

    This causes the Administrator account to appear on the Welcome screen. Note that it does not have a password set by default; the first thing you should do is set a strong password for it.<hr>

    Cheers,
    Regards,
    PaulB

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Not able to add Admin.Account (Vista)

    Hey,
    thanks!!
    But the problem is that you just can use Command Prompt when you click on it while you are logged on as an administrator because otherwise UAC wouldn't let me through...But there is no administrator so I can't follow your instructions, unfortunately...
    Best regards,
    Johanna

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,580
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,058 Times in 927 Posts

    Re: Not able to add Admin.Account (Vista)

    If you boot in safe mode you should be able to login as the user Administrator. That is the builtin admin account. Then you should be able to change any account or setup what you need.

    Joe
    Joe

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Not able to add Admin.Account (Vista)

    Thank you!It worked! I am really relieved and so thankful. I already made plans to install Vista anew or to pay for the Windows Technical Support or something like that...
    Because I just bought this laptop 1-2month ago and in general, I am not good in computer stuff. So, thanks again and have a great weekend!
    Johanna

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,580
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,058 Times in 927 Posts

    Re: Not able to add Admin.Account (Vista)

    You're quite welcome. Glad you got it going!!! Thanks for posting back with your success. And you have a terrific weekend too. <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>

    Joe
    Joe

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •