Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    504
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Continue page in report (2003)

    Hi,

    I have a report that build in a Access database. There are about 20 fields on the report and 2 of them sometime can be really contains a lot of data.

    Since most of time data can be filled in one page, so I put all the fields in one page of report.

    So is there a way if those 2 fields have more data that can't fit in one page, report will automatic continue second page? If data can be filled in those 2 field within one page, then report will only shows one page only.

    Thanks

    Regards

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Continue page in report (2003)

    If you set the Can Grow property of the text boxes and of the Detail section of the report to Yes, the controls and Detail section will expand as necessary to fit the data.

  3. #3
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    504
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Continue page in report (2003)

    Thanks, Hans. It works.

    I have another questions. Since only data in those text box appears in second page, how column, title and lines also appears in second page.

    Also it a way to force page setup are same on all computers.

    Thanks

    Regards

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Continue page in report (2003)

    If you place the labels and lines in a group header section, you can set the Repeat Section property of this section to Yes. If the detail section doesn't fit on a page, the header will be repeated.

    Page setup depends in part on the printer, so if different users have different printers, you cannot enforce the same page setup.

  5. #5
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    504
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Continue page in report (2003)

    Thank you so much, Hans.

    Just want to confirm there's no way to enforce the Margins of Page setup on different computers?

    Thanks again.

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Continue page in report (2003)

    You can set the margins of a report in design view (in File | Page Setup). The setting will be stored with the report in the database, so other users will in principle use the same margins.
    But if you are using a laser printer, you can set the bottom margin of the report to a small number, for example 0.2". Ink jet printers usually have a larger non-printable area at the bottom of the page than a laser printer, so if a user with an inkjet printer opens the report, the bottom margin will automatically be made larger.
    The best way to prevent this is to make the margins large enough for all printer types you have to support.

    One other thing: if the option "Track Name AutoCorrect Info" in the General tab of Tools | Options... is turned on, reports may forget their page setup. So it is a good idea to turn this setting off. You only have to do this once in each database.

  7. #7
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    504
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Continue page in report (2003)

    Thank you so much, Hans.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •