Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    La Jolla, CA
    Posts
    1,509
    Thanks
    35
    Thanked 66 Times in 62 Posts

    Track Changes (2007)

    My understanding, correct me if I'm wrong, is/was that in prior version (and maybe 2007), if a user was using Track Changes, then sent a finished document to someone (accepting all of the changes), that the end user could STILL see the changes that were made. Is that true? If so, I wonder how they could see those changes if they were all accepted?! If this is true, is there a way to not enable this?

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts

    Re: Track Changes (2007)

    A Word document consists of the text of the document and of so-called metadata such as the name of the author and information about tracked changes. Even if all changes are accepted, some of the old text may be left behind in the metadata; this would become visible if you open the document with the option "Recover text from any file".
    Starting with Word 2002, you can remove this information by ticking the check box "Remove personal information from this file on save" in the Security tab of Tools | Options (this is a per document setting). This will remove *all* such information, including the name of the author etc.

  3. #3
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    La Jolla, CA
    Posts
    1,509
    Thanks
    35
    Thanked 66 Times in 62 Posts

    Re: Track Changes (2007)

    Thanks, Hans...I'm trying to find this setting in Word 2007. Do you know where it is? I've been looking in Word Options but haven't found it yet.

    --> Found it!

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •