Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    299
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Adobe flash update - Macromedia error msg (XP SP2(?))

    I ran the Secunia Inspector and found that I needed to (among other things) update Macromedia Flash. Adobe has bought out Macromedia, and renamed Flash and added their name. We're all updated and running fine, except for every once in a while, we get an error message that pops up with "Macromedia Flash Error...Cannot Find Macromedia Flash." It's probably something running in the background, but before I start tweaking around, I was wondering if anyone else had a problem when they did this and what they did to solve it....

    Any suggestions are welcome - Garbette is accusing me of "ruining the p.c." again, so I need to "fix" this as soon as possible. <img src=/S/please.gif border=0 alt=please width=31 height=23>
    Carpy Diem, it&#39;s .

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: Adobe flash update - Macromedia error msg (XP SP2(?))

    Are you asking about the Flash Player or the complete Flash product?

    Joe
    Joe

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    299
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Adobe flash update - Macromedia error msg (XP SP2(?))

    Joe,

    I have a Macromedia Flash Player, and now I have an Adobe Flash Player Activex. I looked at my task manager and I really don't see anything that would be using Flash, but whatever, it's looking for it. Do you think I need to do a regedit and change the name or something? Or should I delete the Macromedia Flash Player and cross my fingers that whatever will find what it's looking for?
    Carpy Diem, it&#39;s .

  4. #4
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Adobe flash update - Macromedia error msg (XP SP2(?))

    I'll add my two cents here to say that recently I have been seeing " <big>Unknown Flash Type</big> " being displayed on the very bottom of the second boot screen. The continuing on apparently OK?
    Any ideas what this is?
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Adobe flash update - Macromedia error msg (XP SP2(?))

    If the message is displayed while booting the PC, it's probably a problem with your BIOS, not with Macromedia/Adobe Flash...

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: Adobe flash update - Macromedia error msg (XP SP2(?))

    I'd uninstall the Flash Player & ActiveX control and start over. See How to uninstall the Adobe Flash Player plug-in and ActiveX control for more information.

    Joe
    Joe

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •