Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    614
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    SubReports bound-unbound issue (Access20)

    I have Main Report. I had inserted 2 sub reports and i have a combo box where I am selecting wich ID Report should be printed for.
    However when subs are un-bounded printing for ALL IDs working fine.
    Printing for selected ID working for the Main Report only.
    So I had made those subs bounded by ID and now when Report for ALL needed to be print - Main Report showing ALL and subs showing only 1 last ID.
    Is there a rule for that?
    Thanks
    P.S. I would like each Report to start from a ner page. Thanks

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: SubReports bound-unbound issue (Access20)

    Don't link the subreports to the main report.
    Create queries that have criteria like this in the ID column:

    Forms!frmSomething!cboID Or Forms!frmSomething!cboID Is Null

    where frmSomethinfg is the form and cboID is the combo box.

    Use the queries as record source for the report and subreports.

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: SubReports bound-unbound issue (Access20)

    You can insert a page break control between the subreports.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    • File Type: png x.png (4.6 KB, 0 views)

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    614
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: SubReports bound-unbound issue (Access20)

    My Reports are based on queries that are all having ID field.
    I am not sure I understood meaning of :
    Create queries that have criteria like this in the ID column:
    Forms!frmSomething!cboID Or Forms!frmSomething!cboID Is Null

    Do you mean I have to use
    "Forms!frmSomething!cboID Or Forms!frmSomething!cboID Is Null"
    IN a query somehow?

    Thanks

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: SubReports bound-unbound issue (Access20)

    Let's say that Subreport1 is based on Query1.
    Open Query1 in design view.
    Click in the Criteria row in the ID column.
    Enter the following:

    Forms!frmSomething!cboID Or Forms!frmSomething!cboID Is Null

    but instead of frmSomething, use the name of the form that contains the combo box, and instead of cboID, use the name of the combo box.

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    614
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: SubReports bound-unbound issue (Access20)

    OK, what id this is a table Report based off of?
    I have select qry, crosstab qry and made table qry is tha last one Report uses.
    I could probably use another qry instead of a table but can table be used? Thanks

    In a mean time I am creating select queries from tables and it is working!
    THANKS

    Page Break is great solution! Hans, I appreciate your help as always.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •