Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    728
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    CoookieWall - Auto Start

    Hi -

    I downloaded CookieWall version 1.1 and although Auto Start is enabled, it is not appearing in SysTray until I manually start it from its folder or Start Menu/Programs. I did not have this problem with version 1.0 And, the Cookie Filter is not maintaining the info from session-to-session.

    I have downloaded it twice now, and the problem recurs.

    Any ideas?

    Thanks,
    Acer

  2. #2
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: CoookieWall - Auto Start

    This probably doesn't happen but is it actually running without having deposited an icon in the System Information Area? (Hunt through the list of processes in Task Manager -> Processes).

    The author seems quite responsive to questions (if I've identified the right program...)
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    728
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Re: CoookieWall - Auto Start

    Thank you for the suggestion, John.

    I rebooted and no cookie.exe in the Process tab.

    Only shows up when I manually run it.

    Acer

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    728
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Re: CoookieWall - Auto Start

    For what it's worth to others.................

    I put CookieWall in Startup plus Enabled Auto Start on configuration menu of CookieWall and it's now appearing in SysTray.

    I had assumed (uh huh) that Auto Start meant the program "knew" to start without anything else needing to be done.

  5. #5
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    5,016
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: CoookieWall - Auto Start

    Sorry to chime in late here, but now that you mention your solution, I think this was what I had to do when I used the program so time ago. Just confirmation I guess. I have found this with some other programs too. Reason? Unknown.

    Alan

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    728
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Re: CoookieWall - Auto Start

    Thank you, Alan. Appreciate your taking the time to respond.

    Acer

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •