Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: two scanners

  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Chandler, Arizona, USA
    Posts
    258
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    two scanners

    I have a microtek flat bed scanner and recently got a dell 870 all in one that has a scanner / printer combined.

    I can't figure out how to have both scanners recognized by winxp. I currently am using the dell as a color copier - running everything thru the console functions.

    Is it possible to have two scanners in winxp?

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: two scanners

    If you did the install correctly, i.e., before attaching the hardware all should be listed when you use your scanning software.
    Where are you NOT see the scanners?

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  3. #3
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    A Magic Forest in Deepest, Darkest Kent
    Posts
    5,681
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: two scanners

    Hi Tom

    Apparently Microsoft never intended to have two scanners on a PC. What will happen is there will be a conflict with the drivers. However there is a work around

    1) Go into the device manager and disable both scanners.
    2) Enable the one you want to use.

    To switch,

    3) Close any preview windows for the scanner you have been using
    4) Disable the one you have been using
    5) Enable the one you had previously disabled.

    XP may tell you that you need to restart and will offer to restart for you. Click on "No" and go ahead scanning.
    Jerry

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: two scanners

    I have never had this issue, all I had to do while in the App I plan to scan from select the TWAIN Source and the TWAIN Aquire and scanned away.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  5. #5
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    A Magic Forest in Deepest, Darkest Kent
    Posts
    5,681
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: two scanners

    I have seen it at work when TWAIN drivers conflict due to two scanners attached via a hub. If memory serves me right, it was a Fujitsu flat bed and a one with a MSF
    Jerry

  6. #6
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Chandler, Arizona, USA
    Posts
    258
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: two scanners

    Thanks - I can get along as I am now - I just wondered if there was a problem, since I couldn't seem to make it work

    Tom

  7. #7
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: two scanners

    I have a HP 4670 and Canon Lite 25 connected to the laptop with Vista, they also worked with my old laptop with XP.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  8. #8
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    A Magic Forest in Deepest, Darkest Kent
    Posts
    5,681
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: two scanners

    Interesting, I am jut writing from bitter experience <img src=/S/sad.gif border=0 alt=sad width=15 height=15> as we spent a while faffing around with it about 2 years ago. One of the various things it could have been was the way the Build of the OS as we have so many applications and so many combinations of the various softwares that they sometimes do conflict. It also depends on the lock down and permissions of the users profile. I don't doubt you but we have had problems and this was a "quick fix" to get around the issue. <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>
    Jerry

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •