Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cosby, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    126
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Copying from web (Vista Office 2007)

    I've been copying my stock list weekly from my web page into an Excel worksheet. Yesterday, when I pasted into the sheet the items were entered skipping every other row like double spacing. What happened and how can I correct? Thanks!

  2. #2
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    A Magic Forest in Deepest, Darkest Kent
    Posts
    5,681
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Copying from web (Vista Office 2007)

    Hi Ken

    Is there any chance I can have a link to the page or is it personal....It may not be an Excel problem but the way the website has been coded and may have changed unbeknownst to you
    Jerry

  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cosby, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    126
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Copying from web (Vista Office 2007)

    You can have a link, but you're going to have to tell me what to do! [img]/forums/images/smilies/smile.gif[/img]
    Ken

  4. #4
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    A Magic Forest in Deepest, Darkest Kent
    Posts
    5,681
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Copying from web (Vista Office 2007)

    Go to the web page , copy the URI in the address bar and paste it into a reply to this message. If possible could you sandwich it in between

    <!t><!/t> and <!t><!/t>

    This way the link becomes active abd us Loungers will be happier <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>
    Jerry

  5. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cosby, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    126
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Copying from web (Vista Office 2007)

    My web page is url http://cm.my.yahoo.com/ /url but I don't think Yahoo will let you open it.
    Ken

  6. #6
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    A Magic Forest in Deepest, Darkest Kent
    Posts
    5,681
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Copying from web (Vista Office 2007)

    Hi Ken

    I have got to page http://cm.my.yahoo.com/ and followed a link to the various finance areas but I not quite sure where to go! Has the look of the site and the way the data is displayed changed recently as it is very javascript heavy and maybe a reason why you are getting gaps.
    Jerry

  7. #7
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cosby, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    126
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Copying from web (Vista Office 2007)

    Jerry,
    When go that url, I have a list of stocks that I follow on the lower right side of the page. I clicked on the url and got the page, maybe you're not getting the same. The reason I've used Yahoo is that I haven't been able to find another site that I can have a list of stocks to follow and be able to copy the entire list of weekly closes in ONE operation.
    Ken

  8. #8
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Birmingham, West Midlands, United Kingdom
    Posts
    219
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Copying from web (Vista Office 2007)

    >>>>>>>>>>unbeknownst

    That's a good word!
    First time this year, I think!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •