Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Canberra City, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
    Posts
    133
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Windows Not Recognising Xcopy (XP-SP2)

    My computer has WinXP-SP2 with all patches up to date. It has three HD each partitioned into two "drives". I have had a batch file using XXCOPY set in Scheduled Tasks to run twice a week to copy data to a back-up disk for years. Suddenly when the scheduled task ran the command prompt window gave this message for each line which started with xxcopy - "'xxcopy' is not recognized as an internal or external command, operable program or batch file." I tried running the batch file from Windows Explorer - same answer, so I tried changing the file to use XCOPY - same result either from a shortcut or directly in Explorer. Incidentally the batch file includes a "dir" command then "pause" at the end so I can confirm that it all ran as expected. When the not recognised message began to appear the batch file no longer stops at the "pause" command.

    Can someone tell me why this is happening and what I can do to restore the functionality.

    Noel

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Windows Not Recognising Xcopy (XP-SP2)

    A shot in the dark, Noel. Since XCOPY is an internal command and (I assume) the XXCOPY is the one found here ( XXCOPY ), one would think the EXE files would be in different places. This makes me wonder if your "path" settings have somehow gotten corrupted. On my machine, the XCOPY.EXE is in the WindowsSystem32 folder. I don't know where XXCOPY puts its EXE file. What about opening a CMD window and typing SET so you can inspect any and all paths shown therein? Perhaps...

    I guess you could also make sure that your batch file contains a full and explicit path to the EXE file.

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Windows Not Recognising Xcopy (XP-SP2)

    I believe xxcopy is a third-party program...? It sounds like Windows can't find it. Try running the batch command from the folder it is in.

  4. #4
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Canberra City, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
    Posts
    133
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Windows Not Recognising Xcopy (XP-SP2)

    Thanks BigAl,

    XXCOPY also puts its EXE file in the WindowsSystem32 folder. Tried SET as you suggested and found that folder was not in the path but I wonder if it should be? Anyway I added that folder to the path - no change in performance. My batch file does not include the explicit path to the System32 folder - I shall try that and let you know what happens

    Thanks for the suggestion.

    Noel

  5. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Canberra City, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
    Posts
    133
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Windows Not Recognising Xcopy (XP-SP2)

    Thanks Lief, Yes, XXCOPY is a third party program, but it does install its EXE file into the Windows/system32 folder. I tried running the batch file from the folder it is in, from a command prompt, but got the same "not found' message - but this is getting weirder and weirder!
    The batch file includes a line - "dir K: |find/v "Volume" |find/v "file(s)" |find/v "<DIR>" " - when the batch file got to that it did not do a DIR command but instead gave a message "'find' is not recognized as an internal or external command, operable program or batch file."

    Upon reflection I am not sure whether you meant to run the batch file from the folder in which XXCOPY is located - I will try that now.

    Noel

  6. #6
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Canberra City, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
    Posts
    133
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Windows Not Recognising Xcopy (XP-SP2)

    Well Lief and BigAl, you have given me the clue I needed!
    i opened a command prompt - it was already in the Windows/system321 folder so I typed in the full path to the batch file and hit Enter - the thing ran as it should! I tried adding a line to the top of the batch file taking it to the Windows/system32 folder - that did not work. But by going to Properties in the Scheduled tasks window and entering the Windows/system32 in the "Start In" window it now works as it should!

    Still - weird that it has worked as expected for so many years but then suddenly stopped - but at least I have solved the immediate problem.

    Thank you very much to both of you!

    Noel

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Windows Not Recognising Xcopy (XP-SP2)

    Good to know you got it sorted - why these things happen is anyone's guess!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •