Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Texas, USA
    Posts
    48
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    updates (Home Premium Vista)

    I read Woody's posts and on November 4th he mentioned to update all outstanding updates and it is DEFCON 4 and there was some updates that he mentioned before that such as ( I am going to list my updates that he talked about before) 939653,,,929123,,,936181,,,935807,,,936782,,,93812 3,,,938127,,,936357,,,905866,,,938194,,,938979,,,9 41651,,, These updates Woody had discussed before were not to update so and so. Does Woody's post on November 4th, where he mentioned to go ahead and post all outstanding updates, does the Defcon 4 apply to these updates I listed above because those updates have not been installed. I have been watching these reports from Woody's. Any suggestions on what I should do? Thanks
    Mark

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: updates (Home Premium Vista)

    Update your system. While a few people have had issues with some of the Vista updates most people install them without an issue. I've installed everything that has been available and have NOT had any problems. If you are really concerned backup your system first. <img src=/S/ranton.gif border=0 alt=ranton width=66 height=37> IMO, Woody's advice is not good for the vast majority of users. I think most people do not want to check his site or any other site they just want the PC up-to-date automatically. If it is left to the average user updates will not get done if they are not done automatically. <img src=/S/rantoff.gif border=0 alt=rantoff width=66 height=37>

    Joe
    Joe

  3. #3
    Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Texas, USA
    Posts
    48
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: updates (Home Premium Vista)

    Joe, Thanks for the response and advice, I downloaded all the updates and I have restarted the PC and there is a popup on Kaspersky where it says IEXPLORE.EXE and allow or block ,,,everytime I turn on the IE7. If I block, it will not go to IE7, if I allow, it lets me go to IE7. Do I need to allow it everytime I turn on IE7? I read and see that IEXPLORE allows hackers to go into my PC, is that right? Is there a fix? Thanks
    Mark

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: updates (Home Premium Vista)

    I do not use the Kaspersky firewall so I don't know the interface. But somewhere on the popup there is most likely a check box that says something like 'remember this answer for this program'. It is giving you a popup because the IEXPLORE.EXE program (Internet Explorer) was changed by one of the patches. It is just letting you know that it detected a change and wants to make sure that it is ok with you that the changed version accesses the internet. As long as IEXPLORE.EXE is located in the C:Program FilesInternet Explorer you should be fine. If not you need to run one or more malware scans.

    Joe
    Joe

  5. #5
    Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Texas, USA
    Posts
    48
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: updates (Home Premium Vista)

    Thanks Joe, you are absolutely right about this. I clicked on the popup and asked Kaspersky to disable this notification. Before I did that, I made sure if this is just a internet file that has been changed by typing iexplore.exe into the search box and clicked on it and it showed me the IE7 page. So I made the disable notification last night and nothing happened till this morning when I opened IE7 and the notification did not return and ran the virus and scan and there are no bugs. checked again with Shields Up and it is clear too. Thanks again.
    Mark

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: updates (Home Premium Vista)

    Thanks for the followup. Glad you got it resolved.

    Joe
    Joe

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •