Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Yilgarn region of Toronto, Ontario
    Posts
    5,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    ZoneAlarm? IP addresses changed

    I'm not sure whether this is a software(ZoneAlarm) or Hardware (modem) issue.
    Yesterday all 3 computers were chatting to each other quite happiliy, and grabbing stuff from the Internet.
    This morning they would all chat to the internet, but not to each other.
    The IP Addresses (in ZoneAlarm) that have been fine for months are now different from those revealed by the IPConfig command (<post:=589,883>post 589,883</post:>).
    For example, The BigBeigeBox had beem a.b.c.12 but now is reported as a.b.c.11, same for the Laptop & IBMServer.

    Several reboots of all 3 machines and the DSL modem got me no further.
    I reset the IP addresses in each of the copies of ZoneAlarm to reflect the newer IP addresses revealed by IPConfig and we are all being sociable again (thanks Loungers!)

    Can anyone suggest a likely cause of this change?
    Has ZoneAlarm put out an upgrade that has screwed up?
    Has WinXP put out an upgrade that has screwed up?

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,585
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: ZoneAlarm? IP addresses changed

    If you use dynamic IP address assignment then the IP address could be different when a PC is rebooted. Had you rebooted the PCs pretty much concurrently? Do you automatically install updates?

    Joe
    Joe

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Brantford, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,391
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: ZoneAlarm? IP addresses changed

    To give another suggestion, assuming you have a router handing out your IP addresses dynamically, check to see if you have the ability to reserve IP addresses for specific MAC addresses. This would allow you to keep the DHCP functionality for any guest PCs that may show up in your office, and still keep the ZoneAlarm filters happy with static information.

    Of course, that's all assuming that it wasn't a ZoneAlarm problem in the first place <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>.
    Christopher Baldrey

  4. #4
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Yilgarn region of Toronto, Ontario
    Posts
    5,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: ZoneAlarm? IP addresses changed

    > dynamic IP address assignment
    I'm out of my depth already .....

    >Had you rebooted the PCs pretty much concurrently?
    My reboot process is consistent.
    Last thing at night I power up the IBMServer to make a backup across the network and shut itself down when done.
    I leave the Laptop and BigBeigeBox on overnight to obtain and install updates (Win XP, Grisoft anti-virus etc.) and run virus checks.
    First thing when I rise I reboot those machines (to force a new working folder with today's date).

    I may end up rebooting the BBB a minute or two ahead of the Laptop, or vice versa, but the procedure is unchanged for months, so even if it were split 10/90 or 50/50 there's still a significant pattern.

    >Do you automatically install updates?
    Generally, yes for Win XP on all 3 machines. Grisoft yes on all 3 machines.
    ZoneAlarm is checked ON for automatic updates, all 3 machines. I tend to go-with-the-flow wioth products I don't understand too well, trusting the author to anticipate the most suitable settings.

  5. #5
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Yilgarn region of Toronto, Ontario
    Posts
    5,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: ZoneAlarm? IP addresses changed

    > check to see if you have the ability to reserve IP addresses for specific MAC addresses
    How do I do this?
    I seem to recall being able to conjure up the DSL modem in the browser, but am a tad leery of upsetting, as we say in the trade, the apple cart.

    Of course, it would still leave me slightly mystified as to what triggered the sulks this morning.

    Having found a solution it'll not take me 60 minutes to fix it next time; just 6. But if I knew what caused the problem and could eliminate the cause I'd be pleased.

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,585
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: ZoneAlarm? IP addresses changed

    Because you dynamically assign IP addresses it is NOT a problem from a computer viewpoint. It just happened. There is no gurantee that you'll get the same IP address. It is only a problem from your view. If you truly want to 'fix' it you need to investigate permanent IP address assignment. That means configuring your DHCP server (probably the DSL modem) to assign the same IP addresses to specific MAC addresses.

    Joe
    Joe

  7. #7
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Yilgarn region of Toronto, Ontario
    Posts
    5,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: ZoneAlarm? IP addresses changed

    > Because you dynamically assign IP addresses
    Thanks for the response.
    Are you referring to the IP address assigned to my system by my ISP? I have heard, at various times, from other users in my area that the ISPs do not offer fixed ISPs, but that they rarely vary.

    My problem did not seem to be from the ISP end. All 3 computers continued to access the Internet.
    I have noticed this (Sunday) morning that file access is very sluggish again, and I suspect that the local URLs (my a.b.c.11 things) have changed again; I cannot see the Big Beige Box from the Laptop, and that situation is usually accomoanied by long waits (10+seconds) to open a file on the local hard drive.

  8. #8
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,585
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: ZoneAlarm? IP addresses changed

    No. I'm referring to the IP addresses assigned to each PC. That is most likely configured in your DSL modem/router.

    Joe
    Joe

  9. #9
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Yilgarn region of Toronto, Ontario
    Posts
    5,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: ZoneAlarm? IP addresses changed

    > That is most likely configured in your DSL modem/router.
    Thanks.
    If I understand you then the changes I'm seeing are being effected by something local to my system, that is, on my side of the DSL modem.
    Something must have happened on my systems (all three!) last week to either
    (1) assign different IP addresses to the three computers
    or
    (2) ZoneAlarm must have hiccoughed and changed its stored data.

    Knowing so little about "networking", I tend not to be playing with either ZoneAlarm or the modem; once it's all working I leave it alone.
    Most evenings I leave the entire system powered on to receive updates, perform virus checks etc.
    When I leave the office I power down everything and switch off the main power bars, so all computers & the modem are dead.
    These habits have been in force for about two years.

    It's all working again, so I'm left waiting for it to happen again, I guess.
    Thanks again for making it clear that it's my side of the modem. I'd hate to have to start arguing with my ISP .....

  10. #10
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,585
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: ZoneAlarm? IP addresses changed

    I'm guessing that the DSL modem has that capability. Do the all machines plug into the modem or do you have a router or is Internet Connection Sharing setup?

    Joe
    Joe

  11. #11
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Yilgarn region of Toronto, Ontario
    Posts
    5,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: ZoneAlarm? IP addresses changed

    > I'm guessing that the DSL modem has that capability.
    It is a SpeedStream 6520.

    >Do the all machines plug into the modem or do you have a router or is Internet Connection Sharing setup?
    All 3 machines plug into the modem (I have 4 cables in 4 sockets, but the 4th cable leads to another room where I sometimes take the lapTop)
    I do not use a separate router; the DSL telephone line plugs into the SpeedStream, so the one box, the size of a small paperback novel, handles my local area network and the internet access.

    About four months ago, I tried using the 4th network socket for the HP2600N laser printer, but the connection kept failing so I reverted to a USB for that. However before and after that experiment i suffered no failures with the LAN.

    Last week's "change of IP address" seems more and more like a cosmic-ray sort of thing, but I don't really believe that.

    In a week's time I'll be moving my office to a new location, so I'll paper-and-pencil the settings before I dis-assemble the network, just in case .....

  12. #12
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,585
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: ZoneAlarm? IP addresses changed

    If you go to Bell Sympatico forum - dslreports.com broadband community and search for SpeedStream 6520 you will find people with lots of trouble with and information about your particular piece of hardware.

    Joe
    Joe

  13. #13
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Yilgarn region of Toronto, Ontario
    Posts
    5,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: ZoneAlarm? IP addresses changed

    > search for SpeedStream 6520
    Thanks. Duly bookmarked and inspected. There's a lot of reading there, much of it beyond me.
    Yesterday the IP addresses flipped again - I didn't stop to see where they'd flipped to - so I committed surgery and changed the ZoneAlarm settings from individual IP addresses to a range of IP addresses a.b.c.2 to a.b.c.15.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •