Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Christchurch, Canterbury
    Posts
    122
    Thanks
    27
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Toolbar dropdown changes (Word 2000)

    Word has macros in two different templates - supplied by different people. Our toolbar has a "Open Document" dropdown with four entries. Occasionally, only when Word docs are open but minimized, when you open Word our dropdowns are replaced by the other crowd's - ie text and images which relate to the other template appear. BUT - the particular macros do not exist (they may have in the past). The other guys use a drop down on the Menubar. How is this crosstalk happening? How can we stop it?

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Toolbar dropdown changes (Word 2000)

    Do you have access to the code in the other template? If so, try to find out what code it uses to show (and hide) toolbar/menu items. You'll have to look in 1) standard modules 2) class modules and 3) ThisDocument.

    Note: to view code in a global template, you'll have to open the .dot file in Word.

  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Christchurch, Canterbury
    Posts
    122
    Thanks
    27
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Toolbar dropdown changes (Word 2000)

    This is what is driving me nuts - there is no code that seems to do this. The only code is in the NewMacro section of the template - and it is just some form shows. The four macros that turn up (Intermittently) on the drop down do not exist in the template. When I inspect I can see the link is to a template of that name - but I have searched and check all versions of the template - none of them have this code!

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: Toolbar dropdown changes (Word 2000)

    Have a look at the forms to see what code is attached to them.

    StuartR

  5. #5
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
    Posts
    5,054
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 417 Times in 346 Posts

    Re: Toolbar dropdown changes (Word 2000)

    Hi Judith,

    It could be a mis-behaved add-in. Check under Tools|Templates and Addins.
    Cheers,

    Paul Edstein
    [MS MVP - Word]

  6. #6
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Christchurch, Canterbury
    Posts
    122
    Thanks
    27
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Toolbar dropdown changes (Word 2000)

    Nope - nothing there.

  7. #7
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Christchurch, Canterbury
    Posts
    122
    Thanks
    27
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Toolbar dropdown changes (Word 2000)

    If I turn off the xxx.dot addin - the problem goes away. Trouble is - the secretaries find that "too complicated" sigh (and it has to then be turned back on for when they want to use it)

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Toolbar dropdown changes (Word 2000)

    Any chance you can attach xxx.dot (zipped)?

  9. #9
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
    Posts
    5,054
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 417 Times in 346 Posts

    Re: Toolbar dropdown changes (Word 2000)

    Hi Judith,

    Apart from the 'xxx.dot' addin sounding salacious <img src=/S/blush.gif border=0 alt=blush width=15 height=15> or maybe missing an 'x' <img src=/S/cheers.gif border=0 alt=cheers width=30 height=16> , If disabling it off solves the problem, then that add-in is most likely the source of the problem. If you can attach a copy, it could be investigated further.
    Cheers,

    Paul Edstein
    [MS MVP - Word]

  10. #10
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Toolbar dropdown changes (Word 2000)

    Installation and uninstallation of addins can be automated using VBA. But if xxx.dot is creating problems now, your situation probably will get worse when it realizes you are out to get it. <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>

  11. #11
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Christchurch, Canterbury
    Posts
    122
    Thanks
    27
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Toolbar dropdown changes (Word 2000)

    Okay - here it is (zipped)
    Attached Files Attached Files

  12. #12
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Toolbar dropdown changes (Word 2000)

    You were correct in that there is nothing in the code in the template that would explain why another dropdown menu would change when xxx.dot is loaded (Added: unless that dropdown menu has the same caption, but you stated that it has another caption).
    The only thing that catches my eye is that the VBA project name of the template is Normal, which is also the project name of Normal.dot. I don't know if this is relevant, but you could try changing the project name to MyForms or MyTemplate or so, to see if it makes any difference.

    To change the project name:
    - Open the template in Word.
    - Click on the template in the Project Explorer in the Visual Basic Editor.
    - Change the (Name) property or select Tools | Normal properties and change the project name there.
    - Don't forget to save the template.

  13. #13
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
    Posts
    5,054
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 417 Times in 346 Posts

    Re: Toolbar dropdown changes (Word 2000)

    Hi Judith,

    Can you attach your template with the "Open Document" dropdown? I ask because the one you posted seems to be the one you refer to as "The other guys use a drop down on the Menubar" - it has an "LSA Forms" dropdown with 13 entries on the menu bar, and the template code also refers to the "SOFTWARELSAForms" path and the corresponding form templates. If there is cross-talk, then it may well be emanating from your "Open Document" dropdown.
    Cheers,

    Paul Edstein
    [MS MVP - Word]

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •