Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger djmoore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    371
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Can't access a secure site I could before (IE 6 sp2)

    Before my recent "upgrade" (reinstalled XP on a clean HDD) I was able to access the webpage provided by our school system to check our children's grades. It's a secure webpage (https) and they provided us with a login and password.
    I am not aware of having tried to get to that page since my reinstall (before now) - but now, when I type in the correct login and password, I get bounced back to the same login screen, only there's a white strip interposed at the top of the screen (it's actually as if the entire screen shifts down about 1/4 inch to make room for this 'white strip'), with the plain text words "Um, ut oh" (no quotes).
    I'm all patched up, Microsoft software-wise, and I haven't messed with any settings in IE - I like to leave those alone.

    My daughter is able to access the same webpage - using the same login and password - using her Mac. So the login information is valid.

    Can anyone think of some setting I may have overlooked, or changed without meaning to, that may have this effect?
    Have a cookie -

    Don

  2. #2
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Can't access a secure site I could before (IE

    If you intentionally enter the wrong login, do you get a more intelligible message?

    Does the site require any plugins or serve any popups? It may be that you have to (re)add this domain to your various lists of approved sites for popups and trusted sites for scripts and ActiveX controls.

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger djmoore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    371
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Can't access a secure site I could before (IE

    Well, I clicked on the login button one time without having typed in a password, and it came back with a reminder that I couldn't log in with the password field blank. And the fact that it returns some kind of message, however bizarre, would lead me to believe that it is recognizing the fact that I'm inputting info - it just isn't being recognized. I tried typing in an invalid userid and password just now, and I got the same message (Um, ut oh). Presumably that's the webmaster's idea of humor.
    I have the webpage approved both by Internet Explorer and by my firewall (ZoneAlarm free). The letter we received in April did not indicate that anything needed to be installed - it just listed the browsers with which it is compatible (all of them - including IE 5.5 and above).

    What did I do differently this time that I didn;t do the last time I installed XP? Nothing that I can think of, besides using a different firewall software (Kerio last time, ZoneAlarm this time). Both times I had a password protecting content control in IE, but last time I may have been more liberal with the levels of content allowed - but content issues for a school grade webpage? I do not have .NET 2.0 installed from the Windows Update webpage (I know that I did install it last time). There are no critical updates waiting to be installed, and only several non-critical ones, none of which involve IE (except for the upgrade to IE 7, which I am still resisting).
    This time I went into IE for all 4 XP accounts and made sure the Yahoo SafeSearch option was turned on. That's really about all I did this time that I hadn't done before, at least where the internet is concerned.

    In the meantime I've sent an email to the person responsible for maintaining the webpage - hopefully I will get a response sometime soon. I'll post it when I do.
    Have a cookie -

    Don

  4. #4
    3 Star Lounger djmoore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    371
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Can't access a secure site I could before (IE

    More symptoms - The favorite I had been using linked me directly to the login screen for our school district - so I backed up to the main screen, where in addition to logging in I had to select the school district as well.
    This seemed to allow me access - it gave me the screen I wanted, which was two links, oe for each of my children - but even if I click on one of the links immediately , I get a message back telling me that my session has timed out ("Your current session has timed out. If you wish to continue, please log in.")
    Have a cookie -

    Don

  5. #5
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,592
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: Can't access a secure site I could before (IE

    Seems as though you might be accessing a cached page. Have you cleared you Internet cache? Have you deleted any cookies for the site?

    Joe
    Joe

  6. #6
    3 Star Lounger djmoore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    371
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Can't access a secure site I could before (IE

    I've done both, and I still get no access and the "Um, ut oh" message at the top of the screen.
    Have a cookie -

    Don

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can't access a secure site I could before (IE

    Have you cleared ALL your cookies, or just those you perceive to be applicable?

    The last time I tried to hunt down cookies for a specific site was quite unsuccessful - unfortunately they are not all clearly labeled with a reference to the originating site!

    Could you try creating another (temporary) user on the same pc and see if you can get in with a clean cookie sheet?

  8. #8
    3 Star Lounger djmoore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    371
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Can't access a secure site I could before (IE

    I just went into Internet Options and did 'delete cookies' - there are a handful left somehow, but nothing related to this website.

    I tried logging in on my wife's XP account (we've only ever access it from mine before now) and got the same cryptic message there as well.

    I know it has something to do with my PC, since my daughter can get to it from her Mac - I just have no clue what it would be. <img src=/S/brickwall.gif border=0 alt=brickwall width=25 height=15>
    Have a cookie -

    Don

  9. #9
    3 Star Lounger djmoore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    371
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Can't access a secure site I could before (IE

    The rep from school (who wasn't able to do more than go over her IE settings with me) said that they have had reports of others getting the immediate timeout message, but only if they are using AOL or the MSN browser. I don't allow AOL on my computer, and I didn't choose to use the MSN browser (II always try to avoid 'flavored' browsers) - but hopefully this will be helpful to someone tring to figure out what's going on? Hopefully.
    Have a cookie -

    Don

  10. #10
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Can't access a secure site I could before (IE

    Have you tried, (as I think Jefferson suggested ) to add this site to your Trusted Zone?

    <big>Internet Options>Security>Trusted Zones>Sites>Add</big> .
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  11. #11
    3 Star Lounger djmoore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    371
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Can't access a secure site I could before (IE

    No, that didn't work.
    Have a cookie -

    Don

  12. #12
    3 Star Lounger djmoore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    371
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Can't access a secure site I could before (IE

    I can't believe what was causing the trouble. Remember, this is a website run by the school in order to provide classwork and test grades online.

    I had the Content Filter set to:

    Language: Mild Expletives
    Nudity: None
    Sex: None
    Violence: Fighting

    When I disabled the Content Filter, the problem disappeared.
    Have a cookie -

    Don

  13. #13
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,592
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: Can't access a secure site I could before (IE

    Well <img src=/S/doh.gif border=0 alt=doh width=15 height=15>, that should've been obvious. Of course, a school site should fall into the realm of expletives or fighting. <img src=/S/evilgrin.gif border=0 alt=evilgrin width=15 height=15> Why were you confused? <img src=/S/hairout.gif border=0 alt=hairout width=31 height=23>

    Glad you got it working. <img src=/S/clapping.gif border=0 alt=clapping width=19 height=23>

    Joe
    Joe

  14. #14
    3 Star Lounger djmoore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    371
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Can't access a secure site I could before (IE

    I thought I'd be glad to get it working too - but now that I can see my kids' grades, I'm not so sure. <img src=/S/weep.gif border=0 alt=weep width=21 height=16>
    I guess it's time for <img src=/S/scold.gif border=0 alt=scold width=50 height=15>

    (and with that I go from 2 to 3 stars) -- with one post, I indict two systems. Amazing.
    Have a cookie -

    Don

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •