Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 27
  1. #1
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    1,993
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    This feature is not currently installed (2003 SP2)

    On a recently, 3-4 weeks, installed Office 2003 suite I find the following in Excel and Word (I have not checked other programs):

    When I start either of the two programs and select Ctrl-O, File - Open, or via the Toolbar I get the Open dialog box. To the left there are the five standard shortcuts in a pane (don't remember its English name); My Recent Documents, Desktop, My Documents, My Computer and My Network Places. If I click any of them (well not Network Places since I'm not using it) I get the following well known dialog:

    This feature is not currently installed. Would you like to install it now?

    If I click No, the Open dialog box moves on to the desired destination, i.e. the one I clicked. After that the shortcuts work during the session, until I close the program.

    There is another related oddity; I have a vague memory that I got the same dialog during the initial first runs of Excel when doing a slightly different operation in the Open dialog: I right-clicked on a folder in the Open dialog, and selected the top option in bold, it's in Swedish but it means Select. Obviously the same as double-clicking the folder.

    I may be wrong about that, since I don't get the dialog about features not installed now, when right-clicking, BUT nothing happens when I right-click a folder and choose Select. It doesn't matter if I try before using left pane shortcuts, and answering No to the question (which make the shortcuts work), or if I try to right-click a folder after using the shortcuts. Yes this is a smaller problem since double-clicking a folder does what right-clicking & Select should do.

    (Doing the same in WinExplorer et al; right-click & Select, works perfectly.)

    Finally, the obvious answer would be: answer Yes when you get the dialog about not installed features, to get rid of it.

    Yes, but I would like to know what's wrong or missing. Since installation I have changed 2 settings:
    Show Standard and Formatting toolbars on two rows
    Always show full menus
    That's the first thing I do on any Office installation, since they introduced it years ago. I haven't even changed the number in Recently used file list, let alone messing with add-ins, so it's a really virgin Office installation. <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>

    As to features installed, done as Custom:
    <UL><LI>Excel, everything.
    <LI>Word, everything but Wordperfect help.
    <LI>PP, probably everything maybe some extra template isn't there.
    <LI>Access, everything, but examples.[/list]Then when we comes to general Office tools etc. No SharePoint or WebFolders etc.

    So I think most of what should be there, is there. Security and stability wise, well the latest updates to SP2 are there.

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: This feature is not currently installed (2003 SP2)

    Have you actually tried clicking Yes in the dialog? If it solves the problem (not just for the current session, but permanently), I'd let things be - life is too short to worry about things like this.

    A possible cause of the problem is interference by left-over traces of previous Office installations. Trying to get rid of these can be a painful process...

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    1,993
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: This feature is not currently installed (2003

    Hi Hans,
    Thanks for reply. No, I hadn't clicked Yes, waited for you to hold my hand. <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>

    And yes, you are right, even though I mentioned it was a recent installation, there was an Office there before. But I did the normal uninstall, with some minor cleaning and rebooting, removing left over folders etc., before installing, since it did go some day between uninstall and install. But as you say, traces could be left (indeed I'm sure there are traces, but the minor ones in the registry get overwritten later on, most of the time).

    Funny the installation put the MSOCache (since I answered yes to leave it) on my biggest partition used for my own data. The C partition has some 75 % free, around 15 GB, but those 290-300 MB cache went to my data partition. Ah, well no problem. I think I could have used some switch at install time to direct the cache somewhere else, maybe.

    I now checked the Office setup in Add and Remove Programs (change); well, more or less it was the features I mentioned before.

    Rebooted, started Excel, and at the dialog clicked Yes. As usual - though I always install the things I need, not much for 1st use - the configuration dialog came, said something about config. Excel and went away. The Open dialog then moved on to destination. As expected it now works every time, and in Word.

    Though, right-click & Select folder still do not work. If I do it twice it works, and double-clicking a folder works as mentioned before.

    For anyone wondering why not use double-click always; well, sometimes you are moving into folders with a lot of executables or other files and you don't want to tripple-click by mistake <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>, thus running some file. Yep, I know there are plenty of other ways to navigate, a simple shift-Tab and your in the folder pane, move with arrows and press Enter. Normally I just double-click.

    I afterwards looked again at Office Setup, what do I know, maybe it was the Hosted Webs feature, don't remember chosing it at install time. A search doesn't reveal much but some updated Excel11.pip, though the MS SharedWeb Folders and OFFICE11 folders are there among changed.

    "life is too short to worry about things like this" Yep, don't have to remind me that life is to short. <img src=/S/mice.gif border=0 alt=mice width=50 height=25> <img src=/S/flee.gif border=0 alt=flee width=25 height=25> <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>

  4. #4
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    1,993
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: This feature is not currently installed (2003

    I did a quick check on another Office 2003 installation, not at home, and I saw the same: if right-clicking a folder in the Open dialog box and choosing Select (or what it's called in English OS), nothing happens.

    Do not know why it does not work.

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: This feature is not currently installed (2003

    What happens if you try the same in the Open dialog in a non-Office application, for example in Notepad or Paint?

  6. #6
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    1,993
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: This feature is not currently installed (2003

    Sorry, for my earlier little longer posts, but I mentioned no problems otherwise, in the first <post:=677,617>post 677,617</post:>, maybe could have been more clearly mentioned:
    <hr>(Doing the same in WinExplorer et al; right-click & Select, works perfectly.)<hr>
    So, no problem in Notepad, Paint, Adobe Reader et al.

    The context menu, right-clicking in the Open dialog in the Office programs, is Windows, but everything else in the Open dialog is guided by Office settings. So I don't know if it's some sort of conflict.

    Office suite: English
    OS: Swedish

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: This feature is not currently installed (2003

    Hi Argus,

    I had seen that remark, but I wasn't sure whether it applied to the Open dialog in other applications. Anyway, thanks for the clarification.
    I've tried to search Google and the newsgroups, but I couldn't find anything relevant - I don't seem to be able to come up with search terms that are restrictive enough. <img src=/S/sad.gif border=0 alt=sad width=15 height=15>

  8. #8
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    1,993
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: This feature is not currently installed (2003

    Hans,
    I'm sure you don't miss anything. And yes, I didn't mention other Open dialogs explicitly.

    Nah, I find a lot about how to modify My Places bar (that's the name I didn't recall in the first post), but this is, since first problem is solved, about inside the file and folder area in the Open dialog, and the right click context menu.

    And as always I find people asking other questions I could have answered. <img src=/S/sigh.gif border=0 alt=sigh width=15 height=15> <img src=/S/sad.gif border=0 alt=sad width=15 height=15>

  9. #9
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    1,993
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: This feature is not currently installed (2003

    I have also tried this:
    <UL><LI>Temporarily disable the resident AV component and test with let's say Excel's Open dialog, and right-click a folder. This since the AV software is there in the background. Also tested with the AV shell extension disabled (the extension makes it possible to scan individual files & folders), since it is there among the options on the right click context menu when I try to select a folder. It did not help.
    <LI>Have checked with Process Monitor (MS/Sysinternals). But even if I set up small test with only Registry activity captured, and have Excel's Open dialog ready, and start the capture before a quick switch to Excel and the right click test, it generate a lot of captured activity, and I can't really interpret all of it.[/list]

  10. #10
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: This feature is not currently installed (2003

    I tried the latter too, although in Excel 2002 instead of 2003, and right-clicking a folder and clicking Select appears to involve exclusively or almost exclusively Windows-level registry keys, I didn't notice specific Office keys being read. No idea what to make of this...

  11. #11
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Long Beach, California, USA
    Posts
    1,912
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: This feature is not currently installed (2003

    Let me get it straight. The problem now is NOT with the "My Places" bar, it is in the Open dialog box. And if you right-click a folder and chose Select, the folder does not open up. You have to do that twice.

    I believe that is by design -- or actually by choice. That is exactly how my Open dialog box works. This is related to the settings in Folder Options. If it is set to "Double click to open an item", then you have to select twice. I'll bet that is the behavior you are witnessing.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  12. #12
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: This feature is not currently installed (2003

    I think you have mis-understood here.

    In the Open dialog box, you right click on a folder, and choose Select - nothing happens. Then right click on the same folder a second time and choose Select and the Open dialog box displays the contents of that folder, as it should have done the first time.

    See the discussion here.

    StuartR

  13. #13
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Long Beach, California, USA
    Posts
    1,912
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: This feature is not currently installed (2003

    I don't think that is correct. The Folder Options specifically states that you need to DOUBLE-CLICK (i.e, double select) to OPEN an object.

    The first "Select" is the 'first click' event. The second "Select" is the second 'click event'. It takes two 'click events' to open a folder -- if that is how you have your folder options set. I'll test it out now...
    ___________

    And... I found this to be correct. If you select the Single Click option and leave the radio button on "Underline", you get lines under each object. Now the folders open with a single "Select" or 'click event'.

    So... then Open Dialog box is responding correctly based on how you personally have set up your Folder Options. Two "Selects" = Two "clicks". There is no way around this.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  14. #14
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: This feature is not currently installed (2003

    I think that you are confusing Right-Clicks and Left-Clicks.

    The setting you are talking about controls the behaviour of left clicks even with that set to "double click to open" I can right click in Windows Explorer and select Open without needing to do the whole thing twice.

    StuartR

  15. #15
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Long Beach, California, USA
    Posts
    1,912
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: This feature is not currently installed (2003

    Oh, sorry -- I see the confusion! YES, if you right-click and choose OPEN, the folder will OPEN. However OPEN is NOT the same as SELECT. In the Open Dialog Box, if you choose OPEN, the folder will open. But, if you choose SELECT, you have to do it twice.

    And to highlight what Argus said: "Though, right-click & *Select* folder still do not work. If I do it twice it works, and double-clicking a folder works as mentioned before."

    "Select" is equivalent to a 'click event'. "Open" is a Context Menu Shell Command option controlled in the HKCR section of the registry:

    HKEY_CLASSES_ROOTFoldershellopencommand%SystemRoot %Explorer.exe /idlist,%I,%L
    Attached Images Attached Images

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •