Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Bordentown, New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    405
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    In Need of Batch Processing...(in the worst way) (XP Home SP1)

    People...

    [will get back to implementing your fixes on my previous problem, when I return to work after the holiday...thanks.]

    But right now...I'm in need of a serious shortcut.

    For years, I've been saving web forum threads (for future reference) as complete html files. If you save a web page in this way...it creates a folder containing all the graphics; & an I.E. file of the same name containing html data only. I should have been saving them as html only, period...but...what did I know. I have hundreds of them (literally); & want to save them; & move them to my new workstation when it comes. But I want to keep only the I.E. html files, to save storage space (as I only need the info; & not any graphics.) I've noticed that when I rename the I.E. file...I can then safely delete the corresponding graphics folder. But I don't have time to go thru this process one file at a time.

    So what I need is a batch process that will rename large numbers of files at a time...to whatever I set the parameters to.

    Is there a way to do this utilizing the OS...or do I have to obtain a specialty program?

    Any ideas?

    Thanks,

    mark4man
    ADK Pro Audio Quad Pro, w/ Intel Core i7 2600 CPU | 8 GB DDR3-1600 RAM | Seagate 500 GB SATA II (Primary) HD | Seagate 1 TB SATA II (Audio Data) HD | Win 7 Pro 64-Bit | Lynx Aurora8 ~ AES16 | Universal Audio UAD-1 | Cakewalk SONAR PE XI | Steinberg WaveLab 7 | NI Komplete 5 | Band-In-A-Box 2012

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: In Need of Batch Processing...(in the worst way) (XP Home SP1)

    Windows XP has a limited batch renaming option - see HOW TO: Rename Multiple Files in Windows XP with Windows Explorer.

    For more options, there are lots of renaming utilities, e.g. Batch Rename .EXE 1.0.51 - Quickly and efficiently rename multiple files (free), or see the links in <post:=585,296>post 585,296</post:> and <post:=585,328>post 585,328</post:> (I haven't checked if the programs mentioned there are still available).

  3. #3
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    5,016
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: In Need of Batch Processing...(in the worst way) (XP Home SP1)

    If you're prepared to embark on a (fairly gentle) learning curve, you might be able to service all the HTML pages from the one forum with just one common set of graphics. For instance, all the little glyphs on the Lounge pages in just one folder, providing the graphics for all the saved Lounge posts. I've done this sort of thing before using <img src=/S/free.gif border=0 alt=free width=30 height=15> software like ReplaceEm and InfoRapid Search & Replace.

    I'm also wondering about the possibility of building them into a "site" or an e-book with table of contents. Post back if you want to persue either of these, and I'll have a deeper think about it.

    Alan

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: In Need of Batch Processing...(in the worst way) (XP Home SP1)

    If your only need is to delete the folder with the graphics then try going to
    <code>Windows Explroer > Tools > Folder Options > View > Managing pairs of web pages and folders</code>
    and select the option "<code>Show both parts and manage them individually</code>"

    StuartR

  5. #5
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Bordentown, New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    405
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: In Need of Batch Processing...(in the worst way) (XP Home SP1)

    Guys...

    I went w/ BatchRename; & it worked out for me just fine (I had logged back in after Han's post...went to the links provided...& that particular app looked like it fit the bill...so I just did it.)

    Had no idea such a thing existed, but it did the job.

    Thanks all,

    [b]mark4man[b]
    ADK Pro Audio Quad Pro, w/ Intel Core i7 2600 CPU | 8 GB DDR3-1600 RAM | Seagate 500 GB SATA II (Primary) HD | Seagate 1 TB SATA II (Audio Data) HD | Win 7 Pro 64-Bit | Lynx Aurora8 ~ AES16 | Universal Audio UAD-1 | Cakewalk SONAR PE XI | Steinberg WaveLab 7 | NI Komplete 5 | Band-In-A-Box 2012

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •