Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Derby, Derbyshire, United Kingdom
    Posts
    140
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Install a working hard disk in a different PC

    I installed a Barracuda 7200.7 120GB hard disk drive in a relatively old computer a few years ago as a second internal drive, and it has worked satisfactorily ever since.

    The computer has now died. I failed to backup some of the files on this drive and would like to retrieve them as well as to re-use the disk as an external hard drive

    I have bought an external USB enclosure system and connected the drive to my laptop but I cannot 'see' the files. I have tried various jumper configurations which give different results.

    I have noted that it was set as 'Slave' in the original computer, i.e. no jumpers installed. Using this setting, the Disk Management sees the drive, but says that there is no media.

    Using 'Master' jumper settings and 'Cable', the Disk Management sees the disk as Dynamic, Foreign. It allows me the option of converting to basic disk, but warns me that I will lose data so I haven't done this

    Using 'Slave' jumper settings (i.e jumper on opposite end ot Master setting), the system sees a 32GB disk, but says it needs to be formatted.

    The other disk drive from the old computer works fine - its jumper settings are a combination of 'Master' and 'Slave' - I have tried this with the other disk, and am told that the disk needs to be formatted.

    Can anyone help me to retrieve the data. And to re-use the disk? Many thanks

  2. #2
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Install a working hard disk in a different PC

    Have you tried connecting the drive to another PC ??? If that doesn't work, you might also try installing it in a desktop system as a slave, recover the data, format the drive and then install it in the enclosure. HTH <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Derby, Derbyshire, United Kingdom
    Posts
    140
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Install a working hard disk in a different PC

    I have now tried it in a different PC with exactly the same result. (My laptop runs XP Home, the PC runs Vista Home).

    I am reluctant to dismantle my brand-new PC, as I am very much an amateur in this area, and would probably lose my warranty if I did. The old PC was already several years old when I added the new disk (successfully, I should say) so I was willing to risk wrecking it!

    Is there anything else I can try, or should I take it to one of the firms that offer to retrieve data from hard disks?

    Thanks for your help.

  4. #4
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Install a working hard disk in a different PC

    "should I take it to one of the firms that offer to retrieve data from hard disks?"
    How much money is this data worth to you ??? Those firms charge an arm and a leg and want your first born as collateral !!!!! <img src=/S/hmmn.gif border=0 alt=hmmn width=15 height=15>

    I'd recommend taking a look at the data recovery software found in this Google search. It's a much more afforadable option and the technology has come a long way in recent years. Some allow you to try the software to see if recovery is possible before you actually have to buy it. HTH [smiile]
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  5. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Derby, Derbyshire, United Kingdom
    Posts
    140
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Install a working hard disk in a different PC

    "Those firms charge an arm and a leg and want your first born as collateral" - I checked a few such firms after I wrote the last post and confirmed that this is the case so won't bother with this option!

    The data consists of spoken word programs which I have downloaded from internet radio stations, and is not really worth spending any significant amount of money on. I have, in fact, got them on an IPOD, and could re-record them in real-time from the IPOD if I want copies - tedious but straightforward.

    I will see if anyone I know has an old(ish) computer who mgiht be willing to try out the disk on this.

    Otherwise, I will just have to write it off as another reminder about doing proper backups!!

    Thanks for you help anyway.

  6. #6
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Install a working hard disk in a different PC

    Good luck. Post back and let us know how you made out.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  7. #7
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Runcorn, Cheshire, United Kingdom
    Posts
    372
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Re: Install a working hard disk in a different PC

    Is it possible that the external USB enclosure is faulty?

  8. #8
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Derby, Derbyshire, United Kingdom
    Posts
    140
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Install a working hard disk in a different PC

    I gave up on retreiving the data from the disk, and recorded the files back onto the PC from the Ipod (slow but it works).

    I then converted the disk to 'basic ' and formatted it so at least I now have a spare external 120GB hard drive. So the enclosure was fine.

    Thanks for the suggestion anyway.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •