Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Block Websites in IE (IE 6.0.2600)

    First off, I would like to thank all of you here who have helped me in the past. There is not another site anywhere with more knowledge than is present here.

    I am trying to block a certain website from my kids, not sure if it proper to state it here, xyz.com in IE 6.0 runnng XP Pro version 2002. I added it to the restricted sites under an enabled content advisor and also to the hosts file. If I go to xyz.com it is blocked as expected, but if I go to xyz.com/community, for example it is not and from there they can access the entire site. Are there any wildcards, etc that I need to add to prevent this.

    Thank you in advance for your help.

    Chris

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Block Websites in IE (IE 6.0.2600)

    Welcome to Woody's Lounge!

    Are you sure that you added a line

    127.0.0.1 xyz.com

    to the Hosts file? That should block all access to xyz.com and any of its subsites.

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Block Websites in IE (IE 6.0.2600)

    Yes Hans,

    127.0.0.1 is included. I've been working on this for awhile and can't figure it out.

    Chris

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Block Websites in IE (IE 6.0.2600)

    That's very strange - is it possible that xyz.com/community actually gets redirected to an address off the xyz.com domain?

  5. #5
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Block Websites in IE (IE 6.0.2600)

    Have you tried using Content Advisor to block the site ???

    Edited by Doc to add...
    The MSKB article is here
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  6. #6
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Block Websites in IE (IE 6.0.2600)

    Just wanted to add, that if your kids are at all computer or internet savy they might know about Proxy Servers or alternate browsers. Then it would be very difficult to block access.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Block Websites in IE (IE 6.0.2600)

    Thanks for the suggestion but the kids are too young to know about proxy servers, etc, 8&4. Content Advisor is enabled as I get the prompt for a password when I try to access xyz.com but not xyz.com/community. Content Advisor works on other websites that I have blocked but not this one. This is a very popular site, visited by millions daily and I do not believe that this site gets redirected but anything is possible.

  8. #8
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Block Websites in IE (IE 6.0.2600)

    I suppose you've tried adding xyz.com/community to the hosts file ??? <img src=/S/shrug.gif border=0 alt=shrug width=39 height=15>
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  9. #9
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Long Beach, California, USA
    Posts
    1,912
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Block Websites in IE (IE 6.0.2600)

    It must be a redirect to a different site??? But how? Usually something like "/community" should not work. If the web address is blocked via the hosts file, all of the pages on the site should be blocked as well. I don't think DNS servers list pages separately...

    This problem sounds a little atypical. Any desire to send the address via IM/Post?? I would love to see how this is working. On the surface, I would argue it doesn't make sense...

    If it is a "popular" site, then I am not sure there is any great reason not to reveal it -- unless it is XXX porn or something equally 'adult' in theme. Send it via IM/Woody's Post to someone here so we can examine what is happening. Otherwise it will be difficult to figure out.

  10. #10
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Block Websites in IE (IE 6.0.2600)

    Will do. FYI, it is not any porn or adult site. I have no problem if you post the site, just wasn't sure if it was appropriate.

  11. #11
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,579
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: Block Websites in IE (IE 6.0.2600)

    Shouldn't 127.0.01 xyz.com be 127.0.0.1 xyz.com?

    Joe
    Joe

  12. #12
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Long Beach, California, USA
    Posts
    1,912
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Block Websites in IE (IE 6.0.2600)

    Woops - typo. Yes, thanks. I missed a dot.

  13. #13
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Long Beach, California, USA
    Posts
    1,912
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Block Websites in IE (IE 6.0.2600)

    I got the IM -- and I don't think there is a reason to hide the site, per se, but I'll ask one of the Moderators.

    One simple thing would be to get rid of the http:// part, so that the line looks like this:

    127.0.0.1 xyz.com

    Then let me mess with my Hosts file and see what I come up with.
    ______________

    Yes, you need to get rid of the http:// part -- that is not allowed in the hosts file and it will render the entry useless. Simply put the primary address like I show above -- don't even include the slash at the end (although I don't think that matters). That should fix your problem.

    Oh, and make sure the DNS cache is cleared before you attempt to verify this. Close down your Browser, open a Run Box (Start | Run), open a Command Window (enter CMD in a Run Box), and then type in the following:

    ipconfig /flushdns

    ... and hit Enter. That should "flush the DNS Resolver cache". Then try to get to that site anyway possible, and it should never get there.
    _____

    Edit: added the missing dot (see below!) Thanks.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •