Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Windows Installer (XP Pro SP2)

    Tell use MORE about this CD.
    What program is it and where did you get it?
    Is it a factory made or a copy of one?
    Is this program built for the OS that you are running?

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  2. #2
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Londonderry, Ireland, Northern
    Posts
    159
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Windows Installer (XP Pro SP2)

    I didn't want to implicate the vendor because I'm pretty sure the fault lies with my XP configuration and not with the vendor.
    But here goes:
    Serif PhotoPlus X2, Vista-ready, factory made.
    Most of my other applications were set up by Installshield, but Serif PagePlus 11 and Serif PhotoPlus 11 were set up by Windows Installer, quite satisfactorily: that was before Internet Explorer 7 came along.
    All help gratefully received!

  3. #3
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: Windows Installer (XP Pro SP2)

    I noticed you said that the software is Vista ready. Is the software for Vista only? Could be the installer is looking for the wrong Windows OS. I highly doubt it is an issue with Windows Installer. That is used all the time when you apply patches. There is lots of other Microsoft and third party software that uses it also. I don't remember for sure but IE7 could have required a newer version of Windows Installer but that should've been installed automatically and should not have any effect on other installs.

    Joe
    Joe

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Windows Installer (XP Pro SP2)

    Found the following at http://www.serif.com/photoplus/photoplusx2/support/
    As you can see it is good for BOTH XP and Vista therefore IE7 MUST be usable as it comes with Vista.

    System Requirements
    Minimum:
    Pentium PC with CD-ROM drive and mouse
    Microsoft Windows® XP or Vista operating system
    128MB RAM
    222MB (recommended install) free hard disk space
    SVGA display (800x600 resolution, 16-bit colour or higher)
    Additional disk resources and memory are required when editing large or complex images.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  5. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Londonderry, Ireland, Northern
    Posts
    159
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Windows Installer (XP Pro SP2)

    OK - this goes against the grain! I have installed IE7, and have acquired Windows Genuine Advantage in the process.
    But attempting to install PhotoPlus X2 still results in the same error message and no installation.
    All help gratefully received!

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: Windows Installer (XP Pro SP2)

    When you put the CD in the your CD device does the install autostart? Also, if you look in add/remove programs is Windows Installer 3.1 listed?

    Joe
    Joe

  7. #7
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Londonderry, Ireland, Northern
    Posts
    159
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Windows Installer (XP Pro SP2)

    Install doesn't autostart - I think I have autorun disabled anyway.
    I have installed several programs from CDs since this problem with PhotoPlus started, but they all used Installshield or their own custom installers.
    Yes Windows Installer 3.1 is listed.
    There were no difficulties whatever in installing IE7 from download.
    All help gratefully received!

  8. #8
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: Windows Installer (XP Pro SP2)

    What file are you running to start the install? Have you looked at autorun.inf to what would be started if you had not disabled autorun?

    Joe
    Joe

  9. #9
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Londonderry, Ireland, Northern
    Posts
    159
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Windows Installer (XP Pro SP2)

    Yes - autorun.inf calls startup.exe and that's what I click, resulting immediately in the oft-repeated error message.
    Here's autorun.inf:
    [AutoRun]
    icon=PhotoPlus.ico
    label=Serif PhotoPlus X2 Studio Pack
    open=setup.exe
    All help gratefully received!

  10. #10
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Londonderry, Ireland, Northern
    Posts
    159
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Windows Installer (XP Pro SP2)

    A new CD that is supposed to be installed by Windows Installer can't be installed. I thought this might date from installing IE7 (which I haven't used) so I removed it using Control Panel. Still can't install. The IE desktop Icon was still there, so I clicked it and IE6 is still operational. However, Windows Installer still won't install the program. Every time I try, the error message is the same as if I try to install a program that's already installed: -

    <This installation package could not be opened. Verify that the package exists and that you can access it, or contact the application vendor to verify that this is a valid Windows Installer package.>

    Following guidance from the CD supplier, I have tried all possible combinations of Started/Stopped with Automatic/Manual/Disabled for Windows Installer running services.msc and I still can't install their program -- not even with a replacement CD that's certified to load OK at their place.
    I haven't installed all of the options that come as part of XP, by any means - is one of them required for Windows Installer to work?
    All help gratefully received!

  11. #11
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: Windows Installer (XP Pro SP2)

    Can you find the installer file on the CD with Windows Explorer?

    Joe
    Joe

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •