Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    US
    Posts
    439
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Jump to Specific Column (2003)

    Greetings,

    I have a question, but do not recall if I have seen this in a post before.

    I have a spreadsheet that has 200+ columns. (I know way too many). But Cannot change that fact.

    What I would like is a method of entering the column number and then being able to jump to that column.

    Any thoughts, suggestions?


    Thanks,
    Brad

  2. #2
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Cape Town, RSA
    Posts
    3,444
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Jump to Specific Column (2003)

    Enter the cell address like Z1 into the name box and press enter. You can even select the column by entering Z:Z and enter...
    Regards,
    Rudi

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Jump to Specific Column (2003)

    You could use this macro:

    Sub Jump2Col()
    Dim lngCol As Long
    lngCol = Val(InputBox("Please enter a column number."))
    If lngCol < 1 Or lngCol > Columns.Count Then
    Beep
    Exit Sub
    End If
    Cells(ActiveCell.Row, lngCol).Select
    End Sub

    This version selects the cell in the specified column and in the same row as the active cell. If you want to select the entire column, change the line

    Cells(ActiveCell.Row, lngCol).Select

    to

    Cells(1, lngCol).EntireColumn.Select

    You can assign this macro to a custom toolbar button and/or keyboard shortcut.

  4. #4
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    US
    Posts
    439
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Jump to Specific Column (2003)

    Hans,
    I tried the macro, did not get an error, but also did not go to the column. I input the column as FV. Tried again with FV2. Still did not go to the column.


    Rudi,

    Tried your idea, and with entering the FV2 it went to the field. I like both versions. So, would like to see the macro work as well.

    Thanks,
    Brad

  5. #5
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Cape Town, RSA
    Posts
    3,444
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Jump to Specific Column (2003)

    With Hans macro you need to enter a column number... 1 for column A or 26 for Column Z.. I think!!
    Regards,
    Rudi

  6. #6
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    US
    Posts
    439
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Jump to Specific Column (2003)

    Way cool....

    did not know of the shortcut(s).


    Brad

  7. #7
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Cape Town, RSA
    Posts
    3,444
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Jump to Specific Column (2003)

    If you want to enter the column name such as C or FV, you don't need the macro, you don't need a macro
    Seems like you are catching that double entry bug that happened to Skitterbug the other day the other day - <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>
    Regards,
    Rudi

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Jump to Specific Column (2003)

    Oh dear, it's contagious... <img src=/S/laugh.gif border=0 alt=laugh width=15 height=15>

    Thanks, I'll correct that! <img src=/S/blush.gif border=0 alt=blush width=15 height=15>

  9. #9
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Jump to Specific Column (2003)

    Edited by HansV to remove duplicate sentence - thanks to Rudi for pointing it out

    You asked for a way to enter a column number - that's what my macro lets you do: enter 3, or 105, or 207.
    If you want to enter the column name such as C or FV, you don't need a macro - use Rudi's suggestion, or press Ctrl+G to activate the Go To dialog, then enter something like FV2 for a single cell or FV:FV for the entire column.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •