Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Bordentown, New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    405
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    New Machine - Part II...Bringing Back the Backup (XP Pro SP2)

    OK...

    Everything’s up & running fine...thanks to everyone who’s helped.

    So...when I backed up the old machine...for future transfer back to the new machine...there were several 'downloaded' programs, installed from the internet; & w/ no CD-ROM to rely on for reinstall. So...I merely copied these program's folders from: C:Program Files, to an external hard drive; & tonight moved those folders back to the new machine.

    Now...I know they function...'cause if I double click on the executable they load & work fine.

    But what I want to know is...they need to obviously have listings under Start > Programs (& I'd like to be able to do that so that those listings look like the programs were actually installed (as opposed to stupid Shortcut icons)...but also...they need their Registry entries in place (& if I go to CURRENT USER or LOCAL MACHINE...they ain't in there.)

    How do I solve this one?

    Is there a way to run a real, new install from the program files, where nothing gets overwritten (but the Start Menu listings go in correctly; & also the Registry entries?

    Thanks,

    mark4man
    ADK Pro Audio Quad Pro, w/ Intel Core i7 2600 CPU | 8 GB DDR3-1600 RAM | Seagate 500 GB SATA II (Primary) HD | Seagate 1 TB SATA II (Audio Data) HD | Win 7 Pro 64-Bit | Lynx Aurora8 ~ AES16 | Universal Audio UAD-1 | Cakewalk SONAR PE XI | Steinberg WaveLab 7 | NI Komplete 5 | Band-In-A-Box 2012

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,585
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: New Machine - Part II...Bringing Back the Backup (XP Pro SP2)

    Find them on the internet, download and reinstall them.

    Joe
    Joe

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    New York, New York, USA
    Posts
    2,328
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: New Machine - Part II...Bringing Back the Backup (XP Pro SP2)

    The entries under Start > All Programs ARE actually "stupid Shortcut icons" in
    Cocuments and SettingsAll UsersStart MenuPrograms
    and
    Cocuments and Settings <your username> Start MenuPrograms
    folders. If your programs in Program Files folder are running fine, just create corresponding subfolders and shortcuts - you do not need any Registry hacks for them.

    However, if you saved registry files from your previous installation, you may load them with your Registry editor.
    DO NOT do it if you are unfamiliar with Windows Registry!
    Unload each hive immediately after you finish to work with it!
    To load a hive into the registry

  4. #4
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    New York, New York, USA
    Posts
    2,328
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: New Machine - Part II...Bringing Back the Backup (XP Pro SP2)


  5. #5
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Bordentown, New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    405
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: New Machine - Part II...Bringing Back the Backup (XP Pro SP2)

    kap...

    I can do this, man...you are the man !!! Know why ???...I still have the old machine (Dell Dimension 8250); & all the programs (I want to transfer to the new machine) are still loaded & functional on the old machine. This is great. So tell me...how do I save a hive on the old machine (is that in the informational?...I'll go read it through right now.) Thanks a million.

    mark4man


    UPDATE: Found it here: http://www.microsoft.com/resources/documen...e.mspx?mfr=true
    I'm in business! Thanks again.
    ADK Pro Audio Quad Pro, w/ Intel Core i7 2600 CPU | 8 GB DDR3-1600 RAM | Seagate 500 GB SATA II (Primary) HD | Seagate 1 TB SATA II (Audio Data) HD | Win 7 Pro 64-Bit | Lynx Aurora8 ~ AES16 | Universal Audio UAD-1 | Cakewalk SONAR PE XI | Steinberg WaveLab 7 | NI Komplete 5 | Band-In-A-Box 2012

  6. #6
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Bordentown, New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    405
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: New Machine - Part II...Bringing Back the Backup (XP Pro SP2)

    Not sure this will work, now (after reading through everything). The import/export hive functionality is designed for the maintenance of one system, if I'm not mistaken. It provides for the downloading of a Hive to another machine, but for the maintenance of the primary machine. What I'm getting at is...I'll be exporting a Hive from machine A & importing it to machine B; & it will contain (most probably) data pertaining to machine A (meaning that the software still may not work on machine B?)
    ADK Pro Audio Quad Pro, w/ Intel Core i7 2600 CPU | 8 GB DDR3-1600 RAM | Seagate 500 GB SATA II (Primary) HD | Seagate 1 TB SATA II (Audio Data) HD | Win 7 Pro 64-Bit | Lynx Aurora8 ~ AES16 | Universal Audio UAD-1 | Cakewalk SONAR PE XI | Steinberg WaveLab 7 | NI Komplete 5 | Band-In-A-Box 2012

  7. #7
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,585
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: New Machine - Part II...Bringing Back the Backup (XP Pro SP2)

    Be prepared to have a big 'brick' on your hands. You are better off reinstalling.

    Joe
    Joe

  8. #8
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Bordentown, New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    405
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: New Machine - Part II...Bringing Back the Backup (XP Pro SP2)

    Well Joe...

    So far...of the 6 problematic programs...I found the serial (or authorization) numbers to Flash MX 2004, Dreamweaver MX 2004 & Cubase LE. The only ones left are Photoshop CS, Vegas Movie Studio & Batch Rename. So Photoshop remains the biggie here (as you can see); & I would go to the ends of the earth for a machine to machine transfer.

    Thanks,

    mark4man
    ADK Pro Audio Quad Pro, w/ Intel Core i7 2600 CPU | 8 GB DDR3-1600 RAM | Seagate 500 GB SATA II (Primary) HD | Seagate 1 TB SATA II (Audio Data) HD | Win 7 Pro 64-Bit | Lynx Aurora8 ~ AES16 | Universal Audio UAD-1 | Cakewalk SONAR PE XI | Steinberg WaveLab 7 | NI Komplete 5 | Band-In-A-Box 2012

  9. #9
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,585
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: New Machine - Part II...Bringing Back the Backup (XP Pro SP2)

    Have you tried any tools like SIW Download that show product keys?

    Joe
    Joe

  10. #10
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Bordentown, New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    405
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: New Machine - Part II...Bringing Back the Backup (XP Pro SP2)

    SIW shows product keys ??? You guys told me about that one in my previous thread, I think. I believe I was recommended that one; & also Everest.

    I'll be damn...I'll try it.

    Thanks,

    mark4man
    ADK Pro Audio Quad Pro, w/ Intel Core i7 2600 CPU | 8 GB DDR3-1600 RAM | Seagate 500 GB SATA II (Primary) HD | Seagate 1 TB SATA II (Audio Data) HD | Win 7 Pro 64-Bit | Lynx Aurora8 ~ AES16 | Universal Audio UAD-1 | Cakewalk SONAR PE XI | Steinberg WaveLab 7 | NI Komplete 5 | Band-In-A-Box 2012

  11. #11
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,585
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: New Machine - Part II...Bringing Back the Backup (XP Pro SP2)

    Yeah, but I just checked and it probably won't show the remaining keys you need. I only saw the keys for MS products. It is not free but you should check out Product Key Finder - Find Lost Product CD Key Code for Windows and Office.

    Joe
    Joe

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •