Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Faxing

  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Faxing

    Since I installed a Cable Modem I am unable to send/receive faxes. My old (phone) modem shows "no conflicts". I used to fax from either Cheyyene Bitware or Microsoft fax. I have Win 98 and Office 2K Pro.
    thanks
    RJC

  2. #2
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    295
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Faxing

    RJC I take it you have checked the basics - that the modem is still plugged in etc. Have you tried Phone Dialler - Start, Accessories, Communications, Phone Dialler - to see if you can make a call??? Ensure that the Fax programs are still trying to use the correct modem. If none of the above then you are going to have to give us more details, like the errors that you are receiving etc.. <img src=/S/cheers.gif border=0 alt=cheers width=30 height=16>

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Faxing

    Mike,
    Situation solved. Wife got Mighty Fax running on her machine!! And we're networked. Thanks for your help
    RJC

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Lorain, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Faxing

    Question..my daughter had Win98 with Fax capabilities...now that she has cable modem, she is unable to fax at all...but then she also upgraded to WinME, so I guess that is why she can't fax..or can she?? Is there something - equipment line to a phone or program (etc) that gives her the opportunity to use her fax modem???? Am just curious.
    Thanx <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    295
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Faxing

    I'm not sure what the story with faxing in Me is I'm afraid. I haven't bothered changing to it. But seeing it was hidden in 98 maybe they'vve buried it even deeper in Me. There shouldn't be any logical reason why a cable modem and a fax modem can't co-habit though. <img src=/S/shrug.gif border=0 alt=shrug width=39 height=15>

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Lorain, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Faxing

    <img src=/S/hello.gif border=0 alt=hello width=25 height=29>
    Just spoke with daughter..she went out to Radio Shack and got the same kind of telephone connection line that was originally used for faxing with her Win98.She just attaches it to back of her computer and the other end to the phone and just faxes whatever she needs to and then disconnects it all when done.
    I don't understand it, but it sure beats paying $1.99 for 1st page and additional charges for other pages at some drugstore or copy store <img src=/S/rofl.gif border=0 alt=rofl width=15 height=15>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •