Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Remove Vista Beta And Replace (Ultimate?)

    As you may have seen in this thread ( <post:=681,732>post 681,732</post:> ) I'm hoping to end my Vista procrastination after awhile with a freebie from the Mother Ship! Since the summer, I've had a copy of VistaBootPRO managing my Win XP MCE on the C: drive and the final Vista Beta, all by itself on a great big D: drive. The BootPro is setup to default boot to XP and I haven't even been near the Vista Beta for months on end.

    When I do get a copy of the current Vista, I'd like to know how to proceed with a nice, clean install on that big D: drive and the only thing that I'm not sure of is how to proceed in light of BootPro being active. Should I just UN-INSTALL BootPro and if I do, will it revert me back to a nice clean boot of my XP MCE? As I said, I'm OK with formatting the D: drive and clean installing Vista, but... there's also a button inside BootPro (see attachment) that looks like it might be safe to leave BootPro installed. However, if I did that, would it still be "safe" for format the D: drive?

    BTW, I've posted this question in the BootPro forum, but I thought I would also ask this esteemed group my question.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Remove Vista Beta And Replace (Ultimate?)

    When I was beta testing I did a dual boot but I did NOT use the VistaBootPro program.

    I would check out your source of this VistaBootPro and see what they have to say.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  3. #3
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: Remove Vista Beta And Replace (Ultimate?)

    I'd guess you have the Vista bootloader active since it is a dual boot system. I'd restore the legacy bootloader before the Vista install. I'm not sure if uninstalling VistaBootPro will revert any changes.

    Joe
    Joe

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Remove Vista Beta And Replace (Ultimate?)

    I did get two responses to my query in the BootPro forum. This one sorta reads like what you're saying, Joe:
    <hr>Fire up VBP 3.3 from your XP install if you have it there and if not install a copy there, remove the Vista entry by going to 'Manage OS Entries', click on your Vista install, hit the red x and apply. This will remove your old Vista boot entry as installing a new version will leave you with a false entry. After that, just install to partition 'D' as you would normally do, just format the partition first and you're good to go. <hr>
    Attached Images Attached Images

  5. #5
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: Remove Vista Beta And Replace (Ultimate?)

    Well Al, now that you've got direction all you need is software. <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15> Hope Microsoft is not too tardy in delivering it.

    Joe
    Joe

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Remove Vista Beta And Replace (Ultimate?)

    What's 90 days between friends. <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •