Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 21
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    London, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Use Recovery Disk or Not (Vista)

    I've experienced several problems with my new computer, new being 3 months old. It has Vista (home premium I think from startup). 1- I stopped being able to log into eBay. 2- I stopped being able to log into my sympatico.ca page to see emails from there ( no problem with emails arriving with windows mail) 3- Under computer, the USB ports disappeared, and no longer show up. 4- downloading pictures from camera impossible now, easier when first bought. The first 2 problems I 'fixed' by downloading Firefox as suggested on your site. I can access these sites now using firefox. But using explorer can't.
    I have 2 recovery disks that the Best Buy installer made. If I use them to start from scratch, am I going to lose everything I downloaded in the last 3 months?

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,592
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: Use Recovery Disk or Not (Vista)

    Problem:
    1) & 2) - did you clear your temporary internet files? Did you delete your cookies?
    3) - Have you re-booted to see if Vista will rediscover the hardware? What kind of USB devices are you using? Do they still work?
    4) More detail please. What do you mean by impossible? Do you get an error message? Does the PC not recognize the camera?

    Recovery disks - What brand of PC - hp, acer, sony, etc.? The recovery type depends on the original vendor and the options that you are allowed to select. Usually you can do a recovery install that will not destroy any data. HOWEVER, you are always better off backing up anything you don't want to lose before attempting something like this.

    Joe
    Joe

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    New York, New York, USA
    Posts
    2,328
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Use Recovery Disk or Not (Vista)

    Welcome to the Lounge!

    All your problems sound like virus or malware infection.

    When you bought your computer, Antivirus and, sometimes, anti-spyware and firewall programs are pre-installed, but they are functioning for limited time only, until full license is bought.
    Did you buy full Antivirus license? Or did you install another antivirus program?
    If so, perform full system scan immediately.
    If not, acquire and install fully functioning antivirus program. If your computer is already infected, installing an antivirus program may be impossible. In this case, consider to use recovery disks you have.

    Do you have anti-malware program(s) installed? If not, download and install SpyBot - Search & Destroy program, (it is <img src=/S/free.gif border=0 alt=free width=30 height=15> ), update its database, immunize your computer and perform full system scan.

    You may use more than one anti-malware programs, but use only one antivirus and only one firewall program!

    Answer to your question:
    Yes, it is correct. When you choose to "recover" your Windows installation, your current installation will be gone - all your files, pictures, music, installed programs. Your computer will be the same as you brought it from the store.
    Backup or copy to removable media all files, documents, pictures you wanted to keep before recovering!

  4. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    London, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Use Recovery Disk or Not (Vista)

    Thanks for the reply......in answer, yes t. files and cookies all deleted...system rebooted several times since. By USB ports I mean the Removeable Disks that are in my computer : ie usually numbered h, i, j. They no
    longer show up when I go into my computer. By impossible, I mean I put my picture card into its slot in computer, but the pop up window no longer 'pops up'. Since the R disks are not visible in my computer, I cant access my picture card
    to download the pictures anymore.
    This is an Acer Aspire 'Core 2 Quad' Intel V//V .....

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    London, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Use Recovery Disk or Not (Vista)

    Thanks for replying.....it may sound like infection, but Nortons 360 was installed during set up. It's run all the time, and nothing has come up.
    I also run Webroots Spysweeper.

    Ironically, I bought this Acer with Quad this and Intel V//V, at the same time as a Toshiba laptop. Both with Vista, yet there has never
    been a problem with laptop.

  6. #6
    Gold Lounger Rebel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,024
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Use Recovery Disk or Not (Vista)

    Have you installed this update ? Might be worth a try if you haven't.
    John
    A Child's Mind, Once Stretched by Imagination...
    Never Regains Its Original Dimensions

  7. #7
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,592
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: Use Recovery Disk or Not (Vista)

    Try turning the computer completely off and back on to see if it will detect the USB drives again. I'd recommend not using 'safely remove hardware' but using Windows Explorer and right clicking the drive and selecting eject when you are finished with a device. I've often seen in other groups about problems with 'safely remove hardware'.

    Joe
    Joe

  8. #8
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    London, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Use Recovery Disk or Not (Vista)

    Thanks for replying,

    The computer has been shut down several times, and still the h,i,j etc, drives are not visible. If I access a USB drive, it shows up, but then disappears when taken off, but
    still when I put in a photo card I cannot find it anywhere now.
    I think using the recovery disks should be the next step....we still have another comp. with XP, and a laptop with Vista while I play with this one...

  9. #9
    Gold Lounger Rebel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,024
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Use Recovery Disk or Not (Vista)

    "and still the h,i,j etc, drives are not visible. If I access a USB drive, it shows up, but then disappears when taken off"

    I'm lost. If the drives are not visible, how do you access them? And what do you mean that it "disappears when taken off" ?
    John
    A Child's Mind, Once Stretched by Imagination...
    Never Regains Its Original Dimensions

  10. #10
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,450
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Use Recovery Disk or Not (Vista)

    The drives John is lost about sound like partitions, not physical drives. They may be virtual drives, if you happen to be using those.

    Internal physical drives include such devices as floppy drives, CD or DVD drives, internal hard drives, tape drives, or an internal Zip drive. USB is just a connector which may be used to connect to any number of external devices including external hard drives and flash drives.

    All of these devices appear in My Computer and elsewhere as independent drives, whether physical or not, and when a USB drive appears when connected and disappears when disconnected then it is working properly. It may or may not have a dedicated drive letter (Tweakui in past, don't know about Vista), but internal devices that accept removable media normally do: your DVD is drive D even when it is empty. Drive A is for a 5-1/4 floppy in case you're curious.

    Your problem sounds like bad sectors or some other low-level hard drive problem. Running a surface scan will report it, but if it is confirmed that you have bad sectors I advise caution.

    The computer is NEW. Check the WARRANTY. If you have coverage that amounts to insurance and if the data is important, then have it done under warranty. You might get a new drive to boot.

    If you have restored your computer to its original state, then you will have reformatted it and the boot drive will be one partition. To recover data from that is expensive. You might also look into a utility called Partition Table Doctor, if only because you can run a surface scan with the trial version.

  11. #11
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    London, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Use Recovery Disk or Not (Vista)

    Hi,
    Being more specific, w thanks to Woody's Vista Dummies, when I put in the camera's memory card, the Picture and Video Import program no longer pops up.
    I also tried a free surface scan, but I'm not sure exactly what the results meant. Still pluggin away.

  12. #12
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,450
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Use Recovery Disk or Not (Vista)

    I now have a new computer with a setup that that sounds identical to yours, and it works perfectly so far.

    If I click Start / Computer it shows two hard disk drives, the first a single partition and the second labelled Factory_Image. If you have that, then the pair of recovery disks you got from the store is the factory image saved to disk in case things get really bad. If you decide to restore the original state, I think you can do it from the Factory_Image drive that is already on the computer.

    I also have five devices with removable storage in Computer, with the first being the DVD RW and the others simply labelled ‘Removable Disk’, with letters F: through I:. If I right click on any of these ‘removable disks’ and click the Properties / Hardware tab, it will identify all of the devices. You can do the same thing with your hard drive, or through various other means. I can see from the list that the hard drive is a single drive, from which I infer that the Factory_Image drive is a partition on it, and I can see that the four mystery USB drives are CF Reader, MS Reader, SD Reader, and SM Reader, which are multifunction slots in the front of my case. If I start adding storage devices to the standard USB slots in the back of the computer or to a hub connected to that, I might run out of letters.

    I do not intend to test this for your benefit, but it looks like you can ‘Safely Remove’ any or all of those four special drives. Right click on one of them in Computer will include Safely Remove, and the Safely Remove icon in the tray will list all four, even when they are empty. They are still physically there, so if something like that has happened, then it must be possible to restore them, possibly through Add Hardware in Control Panel.

    That is speculation, and a plea for help from the experts.

  13. #13
    Gold Lounger Rebel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,024
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Use Recovery Disk or Not (Vista)

    This looks like a card reader driver issue. What type of computer is it (make and model)? Have you checked on the manufacturer's site for drivers?
    John
    A Child's Mind, Once Stretched by Imagination...
    Never Regains Its Original Dimensions

  14. #14
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,450
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Use Recovery Disk or Not (Vista)

    I was about to perform some major changes to my HP Pavilion a6235x today. I clicked on the Safely Remove Hardware icon in the tray, removed a 2 GB SD chip, and out of curiosity checked Computer and saw that all four of the specified drives were missing. I shut down completely and rebooted and they have returned, but your problem is no longer of academic interest to me.

    Your two recovery discs (or a full backup) will be needed if you ever replace your hard drive. You won't be able to install Vista without them.

  15. #15
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,450
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Use Recovery Disk or Not (Vista)

    I took a second shot at this but this time I went into Computer, checked the drives for contents, selected the device and checked Eject. The displayed drives did not disappear when i removed the chip after that.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •