Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16
  1. #1
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Terribly slow boot up

    Probably you have to do a pick and choose startup.
    Go to Start>Run> type msconfig and enter.

    On the General Tab check Diagnostic Startup, then OK. Reboot.
    If that seems to speed things up, then go back into msconfig and go to the Startup Tab
    There you will see a list of things that are installed at startup time.

    Now comes the pick and choose process.
    Probably the best way is to DESELECT about half of the items, then reboot. If it's still booting faster, you know that ONE of the items you deselected is the culprit.

    If NOT, then reselect the first group and Deselect the other half. Reboot and see what happens.
    Whenif you find the group that has the slowdown, then reduce the items by reselecting one at a time. Hopefully, you will find the one that is the cause of the slowdown, then either reinstall the app or whatever it is that is the cause.

    A slow process but it usually works to your advantage. <img src=/S/crossfingers.gif border=0 alt=crossfingers width=17 height=16>
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  2. #2
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    142
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Terribly slow boot up

    PULLED/LOCKED IN XP FORUM: This is your only shot at this one gang. <<=====
    While working (Excel/Word whatever), we had a slight power failure. The house lights dimmed but didn't go out, the computer then froze and I hit the on/off switch (ctrl/alt/del did nothing). Since then it takes a very long time to get out of the Fatal1ty start-up screen and to get to the desktop: before this power failure I was on the desktop in way under a minute. Once running things seem to be fine. Its just the 4 to 8 minute start-up that worries me.
    Things I've tried include:
    - resetting the CMOS (pulled the battery and let it discharge overnight, thank you very much)
    - updating the BIOS (flash bios from version 11 to version 17)
    - switching the power inputs on the two SATA2 hard drives (both are identical 80 gig Western Digitals)
    - disconnecting the CD & DVD drives
    - defraged and scandisked (in Safe and Normal)
    - deleted prefetch and allowed it to re-build
    - had dinner and walked the dogs
    Things I will do shortly:
    - re-install XP Pro w/SP2
    - get a UPS power back up
    - hug the wife and kids
    A little about the system: Purchased in Nov of 2007.
    The light indicating drive is being accessed never stops blinking. During the boot up waiting 4-8 minutes its constantly on. After that it blinks like my Christmas lights (but they are supposed to constantly blink).
    From the boot screen I get:
    02/22/2007 RS6000 W627DHG 6A667A1AC-17
    Flash ROM type SST-49LF080A/3.3V
    Motherboard is a Abit Fatal1ty F-I90D 775
    Processor: Pentium D 925 3.0GHz 800 MHz
    RAM: 4 x 1GB DDR2 800 PC6400 Dual-Channel
    Drives: 2 x SATA2 Drives
    Video: nVidia GeForce 7200GS 128 MB
    Noise: Soundblaster Audigy SE 7.1 24-Bit
    Fun: DVD RWBurner and a CD / DVD Combo Drive
    Make it go: 600 Watt power supply

  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    142
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Terribly slow boot up

    Thanks Bob / Viking, but been there & done that and no help. I'm wondering if I did something to the Motherboard or CMOS Chip. It seems like it hangs before it even gets to Windows, but as that is the OS how can I tell ?? !! ??

    Follow up question: I know size matters but does the size of the Registry slow start up ? My Registry is 80+ meg. To me that humong-enormo-big.

    My post was locked in the / from the XP Forum so this is the only place .

  4. #4
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    142
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Terribly slow boot up

    Follow up question: I know size matters but does the size of the Registry slow start up ? My Registry is 80+ meg. To me that humong-enormo-big.

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Terribly slow boot up

    > My post was locked in the / from the XP Forum so this is the only place .

    Like all discussion forums I know, Woody's Lounge doesn't encourage double posting (<!rule=14>Rule 14<!/rule>), since the discussion can become very confusing if there are replies in both threads.
    But instead of deleting the other thread, I locked it with a link to this one with a request to post replies here. So Loungers who frequent the Windows XP forum will still see your question, and be directed here if they have a suggestion.

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: Terribly slow boot up

    Have you tried running chkdsk, just to make sure there are no problems with the disk structure or metadata?

    StuartR

  7. #7
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    142
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Terribly slow boot up

    I've used Scandisk and Defrag so much I know them by their first names.

  8. #8
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    142
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Terribly slow boot up

    After I posted the same query in the XP forum it dawned on me that was a No-No. Thanks for locking and pointing to this forum.
    - The 80 gig hard drive was partitioned for the OS (20 gig) and the remainder for apps and other stuff. That will make it easier for me when I format and re-install XP. That is the next step and is coming very shortly. I've been preparing for the eventual format and re-install for about a week now (problem started a week ago).
    - The size of the registry still bugs me, and a new twist has showed up: I cannot set the maximum size of the registry through Control Panel > System > etc. When I try the same through Component Services I get an error message regarding a C++ error.
    - Its FORMAT time..... I'll comment in this post when done.
    Thanks to all who have either looked at this problem or submitted comments/thoughts.

  9. #9
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Terribly slow boot up

    How about CHKDSK C: /F ?
    Not Scandisk.

    Don't think the reg size would have a big impact.
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  10. #10
    3 Star Lounger E_OGRADY's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    361
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Terribly slow boot up

    Personally I would run SFC plenty of info on the web.
    As an aside I built a new system in May this year, been an absolute pig, similar to what I have read in your post. Took four months but the problem was the Liteon DVD drives (X2) and the IDE port on the ASUS motherboard. HDD's are SATA.
    Finally Liteon released new firmware, flashed the BIOS on the DVD's and I now have the system I designed.

  11. #11
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Terribly slow boot up

    How full is this partition that the OS is installed On?

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  12. #12
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    142
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Terribly slow boot up

    Back up and running as designed...almost.
    I formated the C: and re-installed XP. Re-loaded drivers and re-linked the apps. Seems to be running just fine. I'm on the desktop in less than 40-seconds.
    The 80-gig C: drive with the 20-gig partition for the OS is a little over half full: about 12.5 used w/about 7.5 open. (response to the last thread question asked).
    .
    Got a new question though. Why, when running a DOS app would I get a very slight pause? Its enough to cause misspellings. I had a similar glitch on a 450-IBM. Is there a way I can adjust how much processor time is given to a DOS app?

  13. #13
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: Terribly slow boot up

    If you need to give more CPU time to a particular application then you can start it from a command line using the syntax
    <code> START / HIGH filename.exe</code>

    You can also change the priority of a process by right clicking it in the Processes tab of task manager and choosing Set Priority

    I don't know if this will help with your particular problem, but it probably won't do any harm to try.

    StuartR

  14. #14
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    142
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Terribly slow boot up

    Good ideas. I tried the start / high one and it appeared to work for a while but then went back to skipping a beat. Maybe its a cache issue. How do I unload any cache or do a memory dump?
    As for the right click and priority, its greyed out. Is this because its a 16-bit app (DOS app) ?

  15. #15
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: Terribly slow boot up

    I don't know what cache you want to "unload" but I have no idea how you would set about this for any cache that is likely to make a difference to the performance of your application.

    > As for the right click and priority, its greyed out. Is this because its a 16-bit app (DOS app) ?
    I don't think so. Is this only greyed out for the one application?

    I think you should check the event log in case your issues are caused by disk errors or something similar, no priority change will help if you are waiting for a hardware event.

    StuartR

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •