Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Application Errors (XP SP2 Build 2600)

    I made some changes to my Comodo Firewall Security Level and was asked to reboot, which I did. When Windows XP Home Edition restarted I received two error messages.I never saw before. They were:

    1. userinit.exe. Application Error Failed to initializse properly (Oxc0000022). Click OK to terminate the application. (which I did).

    2. SDTrayApp.exe Application Error ( with the same message as above).

    My desktop wallpaper was the only thing that loaded. I rebooted several times but not cigar.
    I ran chkdsk /r and it found and fixed several errors but did not fix the errors above.
    I finally clicked F8 while the computer was starting up and choose to use the System Restore Point at today's startup point.

    Thank goodness that worked and I'm back in Windows.

    My question is, how do I fix the named errors or do nothing at all?
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,592
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: Application Errors (XP SP2 Build 2600)

    A c0000022 means Access Denied. So, I'd guess something you changed made important data inaccessible for those applications. I'd not do anything since it seems to be OK now.

    Joe
    Joe

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Application Errors (XP SP2 Build 2600)

    The first error SDTrayApp.exe was a Spyware Doctor file.

    To keep it from happening again, do you think I should remove the program?
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,592
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: Application Errors (XP SP2 Build 2600)

    Not if YOU think Spyware Doctor is an important program to have on your PC. Even if you remove Spyware Doctor you'd most likely still have the problem with userinit.exe and you can't get rid of that. You should examine why you were tinkering with the firewall settings.

    Joe
    Joe

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Chandler, Arizona, USA
    Posts
    258
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Application Errors (XP SP2 Build 2600)

    I had problems with Spyware Doctor about a month ago - I was getting BSOD's, Microsoft said it was SD's program causing the problems. Their web sites forum had several mentions of problems and specified changing certain settings. I do not remember what they were.
    I believe a later software update fixed whatever problems there were.

  6. #6
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Application Errors (XP SP2 Build 2600)

    I could be mistaken, but don't users generally set options in firewalls?
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  7. #7
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,592
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: Application Errors (XP SP2 Build 2600)

    Depends on the user. If you are not very experienced you can end up practically disabling any communication ability. On several XP machines I've used the free ZoneAlarm for years and just about all I've done is allow the PC to be seen inside the router and answer the ZA prompts about programs wanting to access the Internet. I've never had an a/v or spyware infrection in 20+ years of online access. If you insist on tinkering with settings I'd recomment reading as much as possible for the firewall BEFORE making changes.

    Joe
    Joe

  8. #8
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Application Errors (XP SP2 Build 2600)

    I only changed two things :
    Comodo Firewall Security Level -changed from Custom Policy Mode to Training Mode.
    Comodo Defense & Security Level - changed from Clean PC Mode to Training Mode.

    They aren't set that way anymore because doing a System Restore put the check marks back where they were originally. In case that was the problem, I'm not changing any thing else.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •