Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    256
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Time Synchronisation (XP Pro SP2)

    I cannot synchronise with a time server to update the system clock. In 'Date and Time Properties/Internet time', 2 servers are listed, time.windows.com and time.nist.gov. When I click on 'Update Now' a message after a few seconds reads that an error occurred while Windows was synchronising with [server name]' . Apart form this, my system clock is accurate to within a minute or so, but every week or so it suddenly changes from Eastern time to GMT, for no apparent reason. When this happens I always check Date and Time properties, but they are correct and never change, even when the clock jumps 5 hours.

    Not sure if I have 2 problems or 1? Any suggestions
    David P - The Truth Is In Redmond

  2. #2
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    A Magic Forest in Deepest, Darkest Kent
    Posts
    5,681
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Time Synchronisation (XP Pro SP2)

    Hi David

    I see you live in the UK, have a look at this post by <!profile=StuartR>StuartR<!/profile> <!post=Re: Time Synchronization (XP SP2 IE 7),671747>Re: Time Synchronization (XP SP2 IE 7)<!/post> and the use of uk.pool.ntp.org
    Jerry

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Time Synchronisation (XP Pro SP2)

    Try using time-a.nist.gov as time server.

    About the other problem: that's weird - could it be a problem with the battery on the motherboard that powers the CMOS?

  4. #4
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    A Magic Forest in Deepest, Darkest Kent
    Posts
    5,681
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Time Synchronisation (XP Pro SP2)

    That maybe so but as Dave's profile states he lives in the UK uk.pool.ntp.org will be closer and therefore quicker as it is shared by only 11 NTP servers UK-wide


    in addition to your idea he could also use time-b.nist.gov



    <img src=/S/whisper.gif border=0 alt=whisper width=29 height=17><small>He could try ntp2a.mcc.ac.uk as well if he lives near Machester University<small> <img src=/S/wink.gif border=0 alt=wink width=15 height=15>
    Jerry

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Time Synchronisation (XP Pro SP2)

    Good suggestion - I didn't look up the OPs location.

  6. #6
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    256
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Time Synchronisation (XP Pro SP2)

    Sorry for any confusion - I have NOW updated my details, as I live in Canada. I don't think it is a CMOS problem as the time jump is always exactly 5 hours (GMT to Eastern time). I got a list of nist servers and tried about 5 of them all with the same error message. My ZoneAlarm firewall log does not log any blocks, but it may be necessary to set the firewall to allow trafic on the port Windows time uses, but I do not really know how to do this
    David P - The Truth Is In Redmond

  7. #7
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    A Magic Forest in Deepest, Darkest Kent
    Posts
    5,681
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Time Synchronisation (XP Pro SP2)

    <img src=/S/laugh.gif border=0 alt=laugh width=15 height=15> Canada, England , what's 3100 miles <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>

    Have you got any applications that are time dependent on your PC? If/When you moved from the UK to Canada, did you take the same PC there?
    Jerry

  8. #8
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    256
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Time Synchronisation (XP Pro SP2)

    No time dependant apps - in fact the bare minimum of running apps that I can get by without. It was the same PC, but has been fairly thouroughly checked for time zones, language, currency setting etc.
    David P - The Truth Is In Redmond

  9. #9
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    A Magic Forest in Deepest, Darkest Kent
    Posts
    5,681
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Time Synchronisation (XP Pro SP2)

    OK, complete shot in the dark here.

    Was the PC's OS originally installed in the UK as you are on UTC -5 at the moment which fits in with your 5 hour difference you are suffering. My theory there is a conflict with the UK installation and the settings picked up in Canada.

    Is you PC patched and all current downloads from MS up to date? I was thinking of KB933360 which may help.

    As I say , a shot in the dark but hope it helps.
    Jerry

  10. #10
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    256
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Time Synchronisation (XP Pro SP2)

    Yes, I have this patch, and searching the entire Control Panel, I cannot find any trace of old UK settings, It may be an application somewhere, but getting to a time server will fix it anyway
    David P - The Truth Is In Redmond

  11. #11
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Time Synchronisation (XP Pro SP2)

    See my posts:

    Starting with <post#=671,596>post 671,596</post#> and in particular <post#=671,611>post 671,611</post#>
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  12. #12
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    256
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Time Synchronisation (XP Pro SP2)

    I already checked these posts, but cannot get a reply on any of these servers, so there is a block in the OS or firewall, I think
    David P - The Truth Is In Redmond

  13. #13
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Time Synchronisation (XP Pro SP2)

    Just for the heck of it, David, why don't you try installing a third-party synch program like (free) AboutTime Home Page and when Zone Alarm asks, give About Time "trusted" permission to see if this fixes the problem. If it doesn't, you can always un-install the program and continue the search for a solution.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •