Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 36
  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Bordentown, New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    405
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Changing User Name (System Wide) (XP Pro SP2)

    Hello...

    Selling my old Dell 8250 to a friend; & as part of the file/folder cleanup & prep...I wanted to change the PC's User Name from mine to his.

    I first went to User Accounts...changed it there...& it now reads as his name everywhere except under 'Documents & Settings'. So, I broke out the XP bible (Bott & Siechert) to find out how to get to the Administrator Account.

    But Windows won't let me change it there.

    So I tried to manually rename the affected folders under 'Documents & Settings'...but Windows won't let me change it there either (claiming it's a system file).

    Hoping there's a way to accomplish this...I don't want my name popping up on my friend's machine.

    Thanks,

    mark4man
    ADK Pro Audio Quad Pro, w/ Intel Core i7 2600 CPU | 8 GB DDR3-1600 RAM | Seagate 500 GB SATA II (Primary) HD | Seagate 1 TB SATA II (Audio Data) HD | Win 7 Pro 64-Bit | Lynx Aurora8 ~ AES16 | Universal Audio UAD-1 | Cakewalk SONAR PE XI | Steinberg WaveLab 7 | NI Komplete 5 | Band-In-A-Box 2012

  2. #2
    Gold Lounger Rebel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,024
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Changing User Name (System Wide) (XP Pro SP2)

    Why not simply delete your old account and then create a new account for your friend (with his/her name)?
    John
    A Child's Mind, Once Stretched by Imagination...
    Never Regains Its Original Dimensions

  3. #3
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,580
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,058 Times in 927 Posts

    Re: Changing User Name (System Wide) (XP Pro SP2)

    Joe

  4. #4
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Changing User Name (System Wide) (XP Pro SP2)

    You can change the registered owner and organization of Windows by changing a couple of registry values.

    Open the registry editor and navigate to:
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE SOFTWARE Microsoft Windows NT CurrentVersion

    To change the name of the owner double click RegisteredOwner and change to the name of the new owner

    To change the name of the organization double click RegisteredOrganization and change the name of the organization

    The easy answer to changing the user in Documents and Settings is to create a new user and delete the old one. There is a solution to the problem and not just a work around, but I have only found it at Experts Exchange and they have morphed into a pay only service (or you could opt for a 7 day <img src=/S/free.gif border=0 alt=free width=30 height=15> trial to get this answer).
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  5. #5
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Bordentown, New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    405
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Changing User Name (System Wide) (XP Pro SP2)

    1) Are you saying that the A) registry changes & the [img]/forums/images/smilies/cool.gif[/img] user account delete/create are simply workarounds?

    2) The BIG question (just thought of this): I'm also giving him...loaded onto the computer...a whole host of applications. Will changing the registry data or creating a new user account screw around w/ program permissions & not permit him to open my old apps (since all the apps are registered to me) ???

    [That's a huge consideration.]

    Thanks,

    mark4man
    ADK Pro Audio Quad Pro, w/ Intel Core i7 2600 CPU | 8 GB DDR3-1600 RAM | Seagate 500 GB SATA II (Primary) HD | Seagate 1 TB SATA II (Audio Data) HD | Win 7 Pro 64-Bit | Lynx Aurora8 ~ AES16 | Universal Audio UAD-1 | Cakewalk SONAR PE XI | Steinberg WaveLab 7 | NI Komplete 5 | Band-In-A-Box 2012

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Changing User Name (System Wide) (XP Pro SP2)

    Only if you installed them as a single user and NOT for ALL useres!

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  7. #7
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Changing User Name (System Wide) (XP Pro SP2)

    No, the registry changes are just that.... changes to the registry that will change the Owner Name for all the world to see. The user account delete/create will effect a permanent change as well. Simply changing the User Name on an account will change the User Name on the Welcome screen but will still leave the "old" user name in the Documents and Settings folder.

    The page at Expert's Exchange may or may not be accessable via this link. HTH
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  8. #8
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Bordentown, New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    405
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Changing User Name (System Wide) (XP Pro SP2)

    no...the registry changes didn't work; & I wasn't able to delete my administrator account. The heck w/ it...I've changed everything else...he'll just have to live w/ my name in Documents & Settings.

    Thanks anyway,

    mark4man
    ADK Pro Audio Quad Pro, w/ Intel Core i7 2600 CPU | 8 GB DDR3-1600 RAM | Seagate 500 GB SATA II (Primary) HD | Seagate 1 TB SATA II (Audio Data) HD | Win 7 Pro 64-Bit | Lynx Aurora8 ~ AES16 | Universal Audio UAD-1 | Cakewalk SONAR PE XI | Steinberg WaveLab 7 | NI Komplete 5 | Band-In-A-Box 2012

  9. #9
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Changing User Name (System Wide) (XP Pro SP2)

    Why not just create a new user name (your friend's name or one of his choosing would be good) with administrator priviledges, and then see what works and what doesn't. You might be surprised. If you're happy with the new user account the it would be safe to delete your original user account, thus ridding the registry (and Documents and Settings) of all traces of your name.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  10. #10
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Bordentown, New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    405
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Changing User Name (System Wide) (XP Pro SP2)

    I did that...I simply changed the name of my administrator account (under User Accounts) to his; & deleted my password. All that affects is the Start Menu & a sub menu under My Computer in Windows Explorer. I also changed the name In Advanced User Accounts (Command Prompt: control user passwords2) & made those registry changes. That only affects the computer name in System Properties [I think...memory not working so well this week (or is it this year?)]. Anyway, the only thing left are my names under Documents & Settings...so it doesn't rid the registry of anything (to then effect those changes system wide) as suggested.

    Now...the XP bible (Bott & Siechert) has a chapter dedicated to securing the administrator account, with access to local security settings via the command prompt. I'll probably set the machine up one more time & explore those possibilities, as well as creating a new password for him (as I read in the bible that without a password, yer PC is security vulnerable.)

    Also...that official method from Experts Exchange? There's no free account there that I could find (there is...but it comes w/ a $12.95 pricetag. Have no idea how that's "free", but...)...but I think that may be the same thing as this???

    http://www.pcanswers.co.uk/tips/default.as...ubsectionid=616

    ...but that didn't work either.

    [actually...now that I think about it...I tried that method BEFORE I knew what my password was, so maybe I'll try it again. See...Dell had created the password on that machine; & it took me several attempts following their password hint until I cracked it (meaning that...if I could do it...that machine wasn't that secure for the ENTIRE time I owned it & had it connected to the web.]

    Anyway...this is ######in' me off, now. Everytime I have to set that machine up I break my new machine down, all in the same limited workspace. But at least I have the impetus to try it one more time.

    mark4man
    ADK Pro Audio Quad Pro, w/ Intel Core i7 2600 CPU | 8 GB DDR3-1600 RAM | Seagate 500 GB SATA II (Primary) HD | Seagate 1 TB SATA II (Audio Data) HD | Win 7 Pro 64-Bit | Lynx Aurora8 ~ AES16 | Universal Audio UAD-1 | Cakewalk SONAR PE XI | Steinberg WaveLab 7 | NI Komplete 5 | Band-In-A-Box 2012

  11. #11
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,580
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,058 Times in 927 Posts

    Re: Changing User Name (System Wide) (XP Pro SP2)

    The 'trick' at Experts Exchange is to NOT click on any link but to scroll down to the solution section. It is at the bottom of the very long page after all the 'posts' trying to get you to sign up. BTW, I find the answers very spotty there. <img src=/S/shrug.gif border=0 alt=shrug width=39 height=15>

    Joe
    Joe

  12. #12
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: Changing User Name (System Wide) (XP Pro SP2)

    You could try booting to safe mode and logging in to the Administrator account. If you have never set the password then it may just be blank.

    If that doesn't work then you can download a recovery tool from this site that will let you boot from a floppy disk and change your Administrator password.

    StuartR

  13. #13
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Bordentown, New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    405
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Changing User Name (System Wide) (XP Pro SP2)

    I can't do that...the only machine I have that contains a floppy drive is the old one (the one I can't get into). It also looks really complicated; & right now my nerves are shaking really bad. man, this is really messed up.
    ADK Pro Audio Quad Pro, w/ Intel Core i7 2600 CPU | 8 GB DDR3-1600 RAM | Seagate 500 GB SATA II (Primary) HD | Seagate 1 TB SATA II (Audio Data) HD | Win 7 Pro 64-Bit | Lynx Aurora8 ~ AES16 | Universal Audio UAD-1 | Cakewalk SONAR PE XI | Steinberg WaveLab 7 | NI Komplete 5 | Band-In-A-Box 2012

  14. #14
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Bordentown, New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    405
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Changing User Name (System Wide) (XP Pro SP2)

    Joe & Doc...

    HELP !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I knew I should have stopped screwing around w/ this. I now have a HUGE problem...I CANNOT access my old machine...I deleted my old account, but my old account keeps coming up on a log on screen...asking me for a password...but my old one doesn't work. Thing is...in safe mode...I was able to use the new account (my friend's) to get in once. Now I'm really, really upset; & it's very difficult for me to remember what I did.

    I set-up the old machine, turned it on...& went to advanced user accounts. I deleted my old account (let's call it MF, for reference). The other account was also there in that dialog, so I renamed it (to A1, for reference); & created a password. Then I rebooted; & an empty logon screen came up (where it doesn't display any accounts, but asks you to click on a user...which is not there). So I look that up in the Bott/Siechert book; & it explains it; & tells the reader to log on using safe mode...so I did. A log on screen comes up in safe mode, w/ my friend's account (A1), so I type in the password & it boots to the safe mode desktop. Then I went into advanced user accounts again, looking to clean out anything related to myself in order to sell this machine. I found a Microsoft .NET password; & deleted it. Then I rebooted.

    Instead of the new A1 account coming up...my old account (MF) came up, asking me for a password. Now I panic; & try a bunch of maybes. None work. Then I remembered the one I cracked from Dell; & typed it in. The log on screen grayed out...like it was going to work...stayed that way for a while; & spit it back at me (saying the user name or password was incorrect). So I tried the new account's user name (A1) & password...& the log on screen grayed out again for a long time; & spit it back at me.

    I now CAN NOT access my old computer.

    What do I do now?...I need to hack into my old PC & get things straightened out !!!

    Please help...thanks,

    mark4man
    ADK Pro Audio Quad Pro, w/ Intel Core i7 2600 CPU | 8 GB DDR3-1600 RAM | Seagate 500 GB SATA II (Primary) HD | Seagate 1 TB SATA II (Audio Data) HD | Win 7 Pro 64-Bit | Lynx Aurora8 ~ AES16 | Universal Audio UAD-1 | Cakewalk SONAR PE XI | Steinberg WaveLab 7 | NI Komplete 5 | Band-In-A-Box 2012

  15. #15
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Bordentown, New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    405
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Changing User Name (System Wide) (XP Pro SP2)

    how do I reinstall the whole OS? (I may as well just do that)
    ADK Pro Audio Quad Pro, w/ Intel Core i7 2600 CPU | 8 GB DDR3-1600 RAM | Seagate 500 GB SATA II (Primary) HD | Seagate 1 TB SATA II (Audio Data) HD | Win 7 Pro 64-Bit | Lynx Aurora8 ~ AES16 | Universal Audio UAD-1 | Cakewalk SONAR PE XI | Steinberg WaveLab 7 | NI Komplete 5 | Band-In-A-Box 2012

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •